Discussion Board

Vector graphics limitations WTK? (Newbie!)

First, a disclaimer: I've only done one small project using WTK(J2ME? MIDP?), many years ago, and I'm basically a complete amateur in the mobile field, in need of some advise!

My company is hiring an outside consultant to himself manage an outsourced team of devs for a Nokia (symbian?) application, and he's recommending against using Java, on the grounds that there's a limitation involving the use of vector graphics (EPS fiels were mention I think), meaning that's it's extrememly difficult to ensure a consistent look and feel to the application across multiple handsets, which other languages for symbian dev (I think he cited Python) don't suffer from.

As I've at least some experience in Java I'd prefer this as the platform for our app, but I have no knowledge of the issues!

Is there any merit in what he says? Is this a real issue/limitation, or has it ever been one?

Thanks in advance - any information I can get would be really helpful!

Super Contributor

Re: Vector graphics limitations WTK? (Newbie!)

Hmmm.. interesting question.

To advise you properly about the suitability of Java, I'd need to know a lot more about the application you intend to develop.

Well, it's true to say that it is easier to get a native Series 60 application running consistently across all devices, than it is with Java. But the main reason is: it won't run on as many devices. Given that all the devices that can run a Series 60 application are running the same operating system, it's hardly surprising that that the behaviour is consistent. Given that a MIDP application can potentially run on Series 60, UIQ, Windows Mobile, Linux, and a variety of proprietary platforms, it's not surprising that there is some variation.