Discussion Board

Unhappy [moved] Store and retrieve Images

Hello everyone,
    i want to store many images on my Midlet and then retrieve them one after one. There are many example showing how to store an image from a jar file. But i didn't see any example showing how to store efficiently many images from a jar file. Please i'm new in J2ME and i want to learn how to store and retrieve images from a jar file. I need your help and hope i have explain my problem very well .
    I will be very thankful for any kind of suggestion.
    Please help me
    Your fye_08

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: Store and retrieve Images

Hi Fye_08,

I've received the email but I'm afraid I'm not able to help you. Just be patient and I'm sure you will receive advice from a Java developer.

However, your use case is a bit strange, I think. How would the 2000 images get to be in that jar and how will the jar get on the phone? That would presumably be quite a huge jar file ...
    -- Lucian

If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

Re: Store and retrieve Images

Hi ltomuta,
    thanks for your prompt response. I think, i can use an external card to extend the memory card. I'm using N95 and i hope that i can find a 32GB card for example to store this huge jar file within. The problem is that, i don't know how to store all those Pictures... I'm still waiting ...
    Thanks very much
    Fye_08

Super Contributor

Re: [moved] Store and retrieve Images

Hi Fye_08,
    can u explain a little wats ur issue? cause for retriving images from jar u just need to create Image using api Image.createImage("/filename"); i believe that u know this already. so explain ur issue a little.
    Prakash

Regular Contributor

Hi Fye_08

I think you want to save image in your mobile from the jar.You should open the file connection like this

FileConnection filecon = (FileConnection)
    Connector.open("file:///+"path");