×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    81

    Question Changing the default port in my SIP client

    Hello, I need to know what is the risk of changing the default port for SIP 5060 in a SIP client knowing the i will change the port n the server settings as well.
    This might look weird but i just need to know

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Coimbatore,India
    Posts
    114

    Re: Changing the default port in my SIP client

    Quote Originally Posted by islamfunny View Post
    Hello, I need to know what is the risk of changing the default port for SIP 5060 in a SIP client knowing the i will change the port n the server settings as well.
    This might look weird but i just need to know
    Hi,

    AFAIK, there is no risk in changing the default port.
    The only thing is, you may need to manually specify (your newly changed)port number with the sip url always..
    In your previous case, it just assumes the port as 5060 if you had not specified any port numbers.
    Whoever does not try, does not learn.

Similar Threads

  1. Sip client sends a lot of message
    By dimaar in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-01-08, 11:40
  2. How to change destination port in SIP client?
    By t0r0 in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-12-09, 09:41
  3. problem with PRACK with SIP port != 5060
    By rtakkinen in forum VoIP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-10-16, 14:03
  4. SIP/JSR180: Registration fails due to sending/listening port mismatch at client
    By shiv_nitjai in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-10-14, 12:43
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-10-14, 12:37

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×