Discussion Board

Page 1 of 9 123456789 LastLast
    Regular Contributor

Unhappy Desperate Game Project (First time in game developing)

Hello everyone.
    I am a university senior student and as my thesis project I have to develop a Hexagon game on S60 using J2ME and MIDP profile. I have downloaded and installed everything needed(Net Beans 6.5, JDK etc.) and I did some excersice to learn the mobility pack(buttons, texts..) The problem is I dont have any experience of developing a game before nor im a professional Java coder. I have just learnt what they gave us at the university, no extra stuff but we have been to internships and I worked with C++ on developing a software. However I must use J2ME for this project. Another problem is I have 6 weeks to complete this game with Bluetooth connection supporting 3 players.
    So is there any chance for me to accomplish this? How and where should I start? I dont want to fail the course and to be left behind :(
    I have found an e-book called J2ME Game development with MIDP. I got the link from another thread while searching. Also Im working on another mobile game example, learned a few stuff (canvas, how to draw line etc.) but I am losing time because I think that I need a source focused totally on a hexagon game and bluetooth stuff(which is impossible), otherwise I dont believe i can finish it in 6 weeks. I need help, suggestions and guidence please.
    Last edited by ginnixcan; 2009-03-16 at 11:15.

Super Contributor

Re: Desperate Game Project (First time in game developing)

Quote Originally Posted by ginnixcan View Post
    Hello everyone.