×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6

    MIDP(J2ME) OTA Provisioning Version Check?

    hi, dear all:

    I have implemented a j2me program. And I have been asked to update by OTA.

    I build a simple IIS server and add some mime types for supporting jad and jar download. But I can't make the version check working.

    I read some books, they said it will auto check the midlet version on the server and user device, and if the version is older, it will prompt user and doesn't start the download.

    My situation is it will always download, no matter the version is newer or older.

    Please tell me why or how to enable the version check.
    Thank you all in advance.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    16

    Re: MIDP(J2ME) OTA Provisioning Version Check?

    Always do precise the phone you use and its firmware version. With other phones?
    Whether the version is newer or older, I always get a prompt.
    How did you format the MIDlet-Version? Maximum 2 digits per number: 1.99.23 okay, 1.0.100 is wrong.
    If you transfer directly from PC to phone over bluetooth/usb, same problem?

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6

    Re: MIDP(J2ME) OTA Provisioning Version Check?

    Quote Originally Posted by lapinos03 View Post
    Always do precise the phone you use and its firmware version. With other phones?
    Whether the version is newer or older, I always get a prompt.
    How did you format the MIDlet-Version? Maximum 2 digits per number: 1.99.23 okay, 1.0.100 is wrong.
    If you transfer directly from PC to phone over bluetooth/usb, same problem?
    dear lapinos:

    Thank you for your rapidly reply. I use three models for testing this issue, they are all S40 6th os build-in, and of course, different build date.

    I think the format is well, I even use the eclpiseme option of auto-increase version number.

    And I also try to use the nokia PC suite to install my program(via Application Installer), and it also don't prompt me the version info, only tell me the appllication is already on the device, do you want to overwrite it.

    But there is one thing could be the reason, my program just under development, and there is no signing at this moment.

    I still feel bad about this version check mechnism. Do I need to do it by myself?

    Thank you again, any option is useful for me.

Similar Threads

  1. Pin code for OTA provisioning SMS on N95
    By nbdr in forum OMA DM/DS/CP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-04-09, 05:20
  2. OTA provisioning over HTML?
    By marlarmarlar in forum VoIP
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-12-05, 10:57
  3. Questions about version code in MMS protocol
    By wangzhong in forum General Messaging
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2002-11-21, 10:32
  4. OTA Provisioning with Nokia Emulators
    By viscera in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2002-10-21, 14:14
  5. OTA provisioning problem
    By baruchs in forum WAP Servers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2002-10-11, 11:51

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×