×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    10

    py2sis error:Bad language count

    when i try to run py2sis command i get this message :

    -------------------
    C:\Nokia\Tools\Python_for_Series_60\py2sis>py2sis myapp myapp.sis --uid=0x01234567 --appname=myapp --leavetemp
    Creating SIS for SDK2.0 and later
    Processing C:\Nokia\Tools\Python_for_Series_60\py2sis\temp\myapp.pkg...
    No vendor names found.

    error: bad language count.
    --------------------

    please point out a solution..

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    125

    Re: py2sis error:Bad language count

    Quote Originally Posted by archeopetrix View Post
    error: bad language count.
    You might need a '--vendor="something"' param.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: py2sis error:Bad language count

    Quote Originally Posted by aya42 View Post
    You might need a '--vendor="something"' param.
    thanks for your reply but i tried that too.. it says
    ---------------------------------
    "option 'vendor' not recognized"
    ---------------------------------

    would also appreciate other suggestions..thanks.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: py2sis error:Bad language count

    I have been Py2sis tutorial guide on this page :

    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...edition_phones

    hope someone points to a solution.

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
    Posts
    3,852

    Re: py2sis error:Bad language count

    Quote Originally Posted by archeopetrix View Post
    I have been Py2sis tutorial guide on this page :

    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...edition_phones

    hope someone points to a solution.
    hello archepatrix

    its strange i have used that way so may times and i have not faced such sort of problem.

    i never mention the vendor name in the command line.

    May be the problem is with your sdk installation or with your system have tried making sis with the same method earlier??

    Gaba88

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: py2sis error:Bad language count

    Quote Originally Posted by gaba88 View Post
    hello archepatrix

    its strange i have used that way so may times and i have not faced such sort of problem.

    i never mention the vendor name in the command line.

    May be the problem is with your sdk installation or with your system have tried making sis with the same method earlier??

    Gaba88
    thanks for your reply Gaba88..
    no, this was my fist time in packaging sis for 2nd edition, but I have created sis for the same script for 3rd edition using ensymble

    but i dont think there should be any problem with my SDK installation..still i'll reinstall and try using in my friend's system..

    btw, i have two different kinds of py2sis for 2nd edition.. fist is a py2sis.py, a 'py' file itself, and second is a py2sis.exe.

    the 'exe' version is in this path as directed by the abouve tutorial guide :
    c:\Nokia\Tools\Python_for_series60\py2sis

    while 'py' version is in this path :
    C:\Documents and Settings\User_name\Desktop\epoc32\tools\py2sis

    which of the two should i go for ?

    the errors i mentioned is from using the exe version.. haven't tried the '.py'version yet.

  7. #7
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
    Posts
    3,852

    Re: py2sis error:Bad language count

    Quote Originally Posted by archeopetrix View Post
    thanks for your reply Gaba88..
    no, this was my fist time in packaging sis for 2nd edition, but I have created sis for the same script for 3rd edition using ensymble

    but i dont think there should be any problem with my SDK installation..still i'll reinstall and try using in my friend's system..
    Ok that will be better and will be waiting for your test.

    Quote Originally Posted by archeopetrix View Post
    btw, i have two different kinds of py2sis for 2nd edition.. fist is a py2sis.py, a 'py' file itself, and second is a py2sis.exe.

    the 'exe' version is in this path as directed by the abouve tutorial guide :
    c:\Nokia\Tools\Python_for_series60\py2sis

    while 'py' version is in this path :
    C:\Documents and Settings\User_name\Desktop\epoc32\tools\py2sis

    which of the two should i go for ?
    AFAIK you need to use the exe not the python.py.
    Anyways i will check that in detail and will post later.

    Cheers,
    Gaba88

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: py2sis error:Bad language count

    oh.. sorry, i mentioned wrong path for the py2sis.py file (its not on desktop)

    correct path for the 'py2sis.py' file is:

    C:\Symbian\8.0a\S60_2nd_FP2_CW\Epoc32\tools\py2sis

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: py2sis error:Bad language count

    phew.. finally i was able to create a sis file using the py2sis.py

    but have yet to test it.. will post later.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1

    Re: py2sis error:Bad language count

    I have this prob at my first attempt to create sis for my py file
    What is the solution?
    Below is what i do and what i get:
    [

    F:\S60\devices\S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v1.0\epoc32\tools>py2sis\py2sis.sis G:\Storage\Snippets\Python\scripts2\myeditor\myeditor.py G:\Storage\Snippets\Python\scripts2\myeditor\myeditor.sis --uid=0xE1AB1122
    Creating SIS for SDK2.X
    No vendor names found.

    error: bad language count.

    ]

    Please let me know whats faulty here.
    Thanks.

    PS: I am able to create the sis file using python25 and ensymble.py (1.9.7)
    [

    F:\Ensymble>\python25\python F:\Ensymble\ensymble.py py2sis G:\Storage\Snippets\Python\scripts2\myeditor\myeditor.py
    ensymble.py: warning: no application version given, using 1.0.0
    ensymble.py: warning: no UID given, using auto-generated test-range UID 0xe9edca30
    ensymble.py: warning: no certificate given, using insecure built-in one

    ]

    But I have yet to test it on my S60v5
    Last edited by neeraj.soni; 2009-12-24 at 16:18.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1

    Re: py2sis error:Bad language count

    I am getting a similar error message... Any idea to how to solve it?

    Creating SIS for SDK2.0 and later
    No vendor names found.

    error: bad language count.

Similar Threads

  1. How to Know Which Language is Selected In S40 5th edition
    By bhanuchandar.k in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-11-07, 14:25
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-04-13, 19:27
  3. bad language count
    By jetair in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-06-24, 14:40
  4. error:bad language count
    By vivek_dbaurman in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-01-29, 05:05

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×