Discussion Board

Exclamation Game restart is slow

hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to J2ME Gaming.these days I'm developing a war game using NetBeans 6.1 with game designer and I'm using Nokia N73 mobile to test it.in the first execution it runs smoothly.but when I restart the game it slows up.in the restart I have called the constructor.for images I have used PNG 8bit images.the total size of the jar file is 130KB.I have created 5 tiledlayers separately to Floor,sky,trees,obstacles and water.i have also created 2 sprites for soldier and enemy with 3 sequence for each sprite.

I red some threads which are related to memory optimization but I didn't get a solution.can you please help me about this matter?

Thank You.

Super Contributor

Re: Game restart is slow

If it is different the first time, then you need to look at what the code does differently. Presumably, you load the same images each time? What about... information you store in RMS? That's usually the difference between the first execution.

Cheers,
    Graham.

Still I'm not using Record Stores.I'm using only images.the issue is I don't know how to free up my memory when i restart my game.I think that's where I have gone wrong.

Super Contributor

What do you mean by "restart"? You mean, you exit the game completely (back to the application manager), then run it again?

Super Contributor

You're sure it isnt running in background ?

Super Contributor

Quote Originally Posted by damithark View Post
    hi everyone,