×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    10

    Command to bring up menu of commands

    I'm trying to find out how to make a command (like OK or Cancel at the bottom of the screen) to bring up a context menu at the bottom of the screen with more menu options, instead of actually carrying out a command itself but without leaving the current displayable on the screen.

    Is this possible, and how can it be done?

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    7,395

    Re: Command to bring up menu of commands

    The "standard" way to do this is to add more Commands. If you add more Commands than the device has softkeys, they will be placed in a menu, and one of the softkeys will show as "Options" (or similar, depending on device). That softkey will then show a pop-up menu (of some kind, again depending on the device) with a list of Commands.

    Use the Command types well, to help the device place the commands sensibly. Use types like "OK", "CANCEL" and "BACK" only once each on a screen. Have as many SCREEN and ITEM commands as you need.

    (Some (non-Nokia) devices have specific keys, like a "back key". On these devices, certain Command types may be mapped to these specific keys. Notable is the "back key" on Sony Ericsson devices.)

    If you want an application that works in a sensible way on different devices (remembering that different devices have different numbers of softkeys, and different conventions in their native user-interfaces), then I recommend you let the phone place the Commands for you. Just give it the right hints.

    Letting the device handle things also gives it a chance to display it in a nice way (overlaying a pop-up, sliding onto the screen that kind of thing) if it has a posh UI.

    The alternatives are:

    1. Have a Command that is handled by showing a List with options on it.

    2. Use a Canvas, and build it all yourself.

    Cheers,
    Graham.

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Noida, U.P.
    Posts
    1,330

    Thumbs up Re: Command to bring up menu of commands

    JUST ADD MORE THAN ONE COMMAND OF SAME PRIORITY, THEY WILL AUTOMATICALLY ARRANGE IN A POPUP AND ALSO A COMMMAND NAMED AS OPTIONS WILL SEEING ON LSK OR RSK DEPEND UPON DEVICE.
    U CAN ALSO MANAGE BY BUILDING ALL UI CUSTOM BY URSELF.
    thanks,
    jitu_goldie..

    KEEP TRYING..

Similar Threads

  1. PROBLEM IN DISPLAYING MENU COMMANDS
    By pistha in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-09-21, 15:17
  2. PROBLEM IN DISPLAYING MENU COMMANDS
    By pistha in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-09-21, 07:47
  3. slide menu in j2me
    By afka in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-09-04, 09:10
  4. 6600 item commands & options menu
    By random_john_doe in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2003-12-10, 16:18
  5. How to open Commands menu from an application?
    By doctordwarf in forum Mobile Java Media (Graphics & Sounds)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2003-07-11, 12:25

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×