×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Strasbourg - France
    Posts
    110

    Question Problem using SDK 5th with Carbide.c++

    Hi guys,
    First sorry for my english I'm French.
    I am a new Symbian developer and I have a problem to use the SDK 5th with Carbide.c++ 2.0

    I run on Vista and I have installed Perl 5.6.1 and this SDK :
    http://www.forum.nokia.com/info/sw.n..._One_SDKs.html

    So, the problem is when I want to build the Hello Wolrd example :


    and the Preference Menu :


    it seems that the SKD does not installed correctly.
    Any help will be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,359

    Re: Problem using SDK 5th with Carbide.c++

    Do you have the file "c:\program files\common files\symbian\devices.xml"? What is its content?
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Strasbourg - France
    Posts
    110

    Re: Problem using SDK 5th with Carbide.c++

    Yes I do :

    <?xml version="1.0"?>
    <devices version="1.0">
    <device id="S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v1.0_2" name="com.nokia.s60" default="yes" userdeletable="yes">
    <epocroot>C:\S60\devices\S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v1.0_2</epocroot>
    <toolsroot>C:\S60\devices\S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v1.0_2</toolsroot>
    </device>
    <device id="S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v1.0_3" name="com.nokia.s60" default="no" userdeletable="yes">
    <epocroot>C:\S60\devices\S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v1.0_3</epocroot>
    <toolsroot>C:\S60\devices\S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v1.0_3</toolsroot>
    </device>
    </devices>

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,359

    Re: Problem using SDK 5th with Carbide.c++

    Do those two SDK's exist at the specified locations?
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Strasbourg - France
    Posts
    110

    Re: Problem using SDK 5th with Carbide.c++

    Yes they are in this location.. I don't understand what I done wrong.

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Strasbourg - France
    Posts
    110

    Re: Problem using SDK 5th with Carbide.c++

    I managed to put the SDK manually, using this link : http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...d.php?t=147062
    and my devices.xml.

    But if someone knows why it doesn't configured itself, I'm curious.
    Thanks for your help.

  7. #7
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,359

    Re: Problem using SDK 5th with Carbide.c++

    What is the content of devices.xml now?
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Strasbourg - France
    Posts
    110

    Re: Problem using SDK 5th with Carbide.c++

    It does not change.

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,359

    Re: Problem using SDK 5th with Carbide.c++

    Ok, it must be the virtual storage thing then. Vista is protecting your devices.xml and files that try to write it will in fact modify a copy of the files stored under your user profile directory.

    Search for devices.xml, locate the copy and then you can move it (or rather its content) to the proper location so that all all the apps see the same file.
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  10. #10
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Strasbourg - France
    Posts
    110

    Re: Problem using SDK 5th with Carbide.c++

    Ok I see, I did what you said and Vista asked me an administrator right to copy the file.
    This devices.xml contents :
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <devices version="1.0">
    <device default="yes" id="S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v1.0_2" name="com.nokia.s60" userdeletable="no">
    <epocroot>C:\S60\devices\S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v1.0_2\</epocroot>
    </device>
    </devices>
    in fact this is what I give in the preferences of Carbide ...

    Do you know why I had this problem ?

  11. #11
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,359

    Re: Problem using SDK 5th with Carbide.c++

    It is a new Vista feature that protects the files stored in sensitive areas, such as under "C:\Program Files\...". A copy of them is created when untrusted attempts are made to write them so that the data is written into a copy of the file, not in the file itself. This is supposed to be transparent to the apps but unfortunately it is not.

    As long as the two copy of the file are in sync you have no problem with that, most of the tools just read from the file so as long as they read the same thing then you don't care where they read it from. In fact you can delete the copy after you transfer the content and all the tools will be able to read from the original location.

    You will have to remember about this problem though each time you modify the configuration (e.g. if you install new SDK or if you call devices.exe) and inspect the content of the files when running into problems.

    As an alternative solution you could make sure to run Carbide.c++ (and other tools as well) as Administrator.
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3

    Re: Problem using SDK 5th with Carbide.c++

    Ok thank you very much ltomuta.

Similar Threads

  1. S60 3rd Edition FP1 SDK: Problem with emulator (emulator is not started)
    By bit5@mail.ru in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2011-06-30, 13:56
  2. Series 40 5th edition sdk connection problem
    By engiu in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-09-27, 04:58
  3. Problem: S60 SDK for CW in PC with .NET
    By anttij in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-02-28, 11:36
  4. Series 60 Concept Emulator (SDK Beta 0.2 Linux) not working
    By mattbee in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-06-10, 11:43
  5. Series 60Series 60 MIDP Concept SDK Beta 0.2 Linux bug?
    By kauppi in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2003-04-07, 09:05

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×