×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    10

    Change Marker in Google Maps

    Hi to all

    I am using Static Google maps.
    I want to use my own marker rather then the default marker.
    How can I do?
    In one of the application I have seen it.

    And in the Dyanamic Google maps how can I plot more then one marker( mu own marker).

    Thanks,
    Mobile Developer

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    198

    Re: Change Marker in Google Maps

    Quote Originally Posted by Mobile Developer View Post
    I am using Static Google maps.
    On a mobile device, this means that you must purchase an Enterprise License from Google.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mobile Developer View Post
    I want to use my own marker rather then the default marker.
    How can I do?
    In one of the application I have seen it.
    This is a Google Maps question so you should probably ask it on a Google forum.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mobile Developer View Post
    And in the Dyanamic Google maps how can I plot more then one marker( mu own marker).
    You can't run Dynamic Google Maps on a mobile device at all... it requires AJAX and Java Standard Edition support.

    - Mike
    NAVTEQ Network for Developers
    The community for developing innovative location-based applications
    http://NN4D.com

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    10

    Smile Re: Change Marker in Google Maps

    Thanks mikemoore,

    And about licensing that is I have.
    But in the static map there is no need of that also.

    I have seen the the same application which right now I am developing has the other markers rather hen default one.

    Thanks,
    Mobile Developer

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,708

    Re: Change Marker in Google Maps

    On a mobile device, this means that you must purchase an Enterprise License from Google.

    Are we sure about this ?
    As far as I understood from their FAQ is that it can be used for a non-web-based app (mobile) and as long as its a publiccly available without charge it should be ok...

    Can I use Google Maps in my non-Web application?
    Yes, the Google Maps APIs can now be used in Desktop applications, provided that they adhere to the other restrictions of the Terms of Service. Note that in order for a desktop application to be deemed "publicly accessible", there must be a publicly accessible webpage from which it can be downloaded.

    Can I use the Google Maps APIs for tracking applications?

    There is no restriction on displaying real-time data (tracking) with the Google Maps APIs provided that the application is publicly available without charge and otherwise complies with the Terms of Service. For internal-only applications, Google Maps API Premier must be used. See Section 10.9 of the Terms of Service for more information.

    How do I deliver Maps applications on mobile devices?
    The Google Maps API requires a complete JavaScript environment which is not broadly supported on existing mobile devices. We recommend using the Google Static Maps API to deliver customized maps to mobile phones:

    http://code.google.com/apis/maps/doc...on/staticmaps/

    This delivers maps in GIF/JPG/PNG format, and supports a map type targeted at mobile devices.

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    198

    Re: Change Marker in Google Maps

    You definitely need to purchase an Enterprise License from Google to use any of the Google map data on a mobile phone. Terms and conditions section 10 (License Restrictions) clause 8 says

    You must not... use the Static Maps API other than in an implementation in a web browser
    There are no exceptions listed in the actual terms and conditions, although as you say, the FAQ might be read to say something different. However, even the FAQ is pretty clear if read correctly. For example (bold words are mine)

    the Google Maps APIs can now be used in Desktop applications
    And just because the FAQ says that it is possible to use static maps on a mobile device doesn't mean that you don't need a license.

    - Mike
    NAVTEQ Network for Developers
    The community for developing innovative location-based applications
    http://NN4D.com

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    10

    Smile Re: Change Marker in Google Maps

    yes dear
    I do have licensing.
    I have that key also.

    I am able to locate the point also.
    Just I am not able to change the marker.

    Thanks
    Mobile Developer

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    198

    Re: Change Marker in Google Maps

    Quote Originally Posted by Mobile Developer View Post
    I do have licensing.
    Can I ask how much you paid for it?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mobile Developer View Post
    Just I am not able to change the marker.
    I don't think anyone here knows the answer to the question. You should ask Google. If you have a paid license I'm sure that they will provide you with support.

    - Mike
    NAVTEQ Network for Developers
    The community for developing innovative location-based applications
    http://NN4D.com

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    10

    Re: Change Marker in Google Maps

    It is baught by my company.
    So I dont know about that.

    And thank you for your suggestion.

    Regards
    Mobile Developer

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,708

    Re: Change Marker in Google Maps

    thanks for the info mike, I definitely did see the desktop part, but dealign with american companies I am always trying to think American (think lawsuits about stupid things) and if they don't mention explicit things (as cannot be used for mobiles) then it's acceptable :P

    I did see though what the extra features are with an enterprise license and one of those is an extensive customer support, so there you are Mobile Developer, you have bought the license so actually you are one of the lucky guys who can count on their direct and professional support

    Regarding the price I saw it's depending on the number of requests (seems like the are doing like all other map providers for example mappoint alos based on number of requests)... I did also see you can become an Partner for 4000 euro's a year... You hget courses and stuff for that money, who know maybe even a license ?

    BTW there is a 30 day trial regarding the enterprise klicense on their site

  10. #10
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    1,100

    Re: Change Marker in Google Maps

    Hi there,

    I would like to bring your attention also Nokia Location APIs, that would enable you with tools to do exactly what you have asked :

    You can retrieve Nokia Maps tiles (images) using the Nokia Map Image API.

    Here is an example article on how to use the Map Image API with Java ME

    http://www.developer.nokia.com/Commu...I_with_Java_ME

    There is a comprehensive API reference and example code available.

    Here is a link via which you can access this API and the other Nokia Location APIs aswell:

    http://www.developer.nokia.com/Develop/Maps/

    Direct link to licensing information:

    http://www.developer.nokia.com/Develop/Maps/

    Best,
    Marko
    [FONT="Comic Sans MS"][COLOR="Blue"][/COLOR][I]Marko Lumivuori
    Technical Support
    +358 40 8019330
    [email]marko.lumivuori@nokia.com[/email][/I][/FONT]

Similar Threads

  1. About Google Maps API
    By lysander in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-01-23, 13:52
  2. TiledImage: App similar to Google Maps
    By Olimlad in forum Mobile Java Media (Graphics & Sounds)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-05-02, 14:31
  3. HTTP POST failing and discrepancy of string tables in SDK and 6600
    By cas_dominic in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-05-31, 08:08

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •