Discussion Board

Problem using CPbkContactEngine::SetFieldAsSpeedDialL on 3rd Edition FP2

Hi,

I am trying to write to the speed dial in my application.
    I am using CPbkContactEngine for the purpose and have successfully done so on 3rd edition and 3rd edition FP1 devices. I have been using this code for 2 years now.
    But I am getting a KErrServerTerminated(-15 ) error on FP2 devices (N96 and N78). The phone restarts after doing so.

Changes have been done to the contacts API in 3rd edition FP2. But I cannot find anything related to SetFieldAsSpeedDialL. Is it a bug in FP2?

Thanks,
    Sid

Nokia Developer Champion

Re: Problem using CPbkContactEngine::SetFieldAsSpeedDialL on 3rd Edition FP2

Quote Originally Posted by sid09 View Post
    Changes have been done to the contacts API in 3rd edition FP2. But I cannot find anything related to SetFieldAsSpeedDialL. Is it a bug in FP2?
    I am not sure but see if this article has to say something related to your problem: http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...2C_FP2_devices
    Nokia Developer Wiki Moderation team

I am not using the image field. But it looks like the CPbkContactItem has changed in FP2(they have added new fields). I am using a 3rd edition FP1 SDK. Should it create a problem? I thought FP2 is binary compatible with earlier 3rd editions.

Thanks,
    Sid

Angry Re: Problem using CPbkContactEngine::SetFieldAsSpeedDialL on 3rd Edition FP2

Looks like there is nobody who can figure it out.. so much for the Symbian help and support!!! Symbian sucks!

Super Contributor

I am not using the image field. But it looks like the CPbkContactItem has changed in FP2(they have added new fields). I am using a 3rd edition FP1 SDK. Should it create a problem? I thought FP2 is binary compatible with earlier 3rd editions.

Thanks,
    Sid
    Logically you should be using FP2 SDK, if a feature is introduced in FP2 devices can't expect it is supported in previous SDKs.