×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    65

    Angry [moved] Finally something to impress!

    Carbide, what a wonderful tool, able to eat 98% of a dual core 3.08ghz pentium (according to process explorer), and what was I doing? Oh yes, I'd typed one character on the editor. Nothing much appeared to happen fro at least 45 seconds and then the character was drawn.
    Amazing, very repeatable today.
    Even after a restart
    What the difference between now and 9:00 am is I don't really know, still, finding something to do with all those mips when rendering one single character has to be the most impressive thing I've seen in years!

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    65

    Re: Finally something to impress!

    wow, also managing to use 909.5 MB of private data, 1167 handles, amazing, what would it be like if I'd managed to get far enough in to write a decent size program?

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    3,644

    Re: Finally something to impress!

    Sounds like something is screwy with your setup, I have 20 large projects + 10 make files and its using 155meg, which sounds like a lot till you look at firefox which is using 120meg.

    This sounds like a corrupt workspace more than anything else.
    Download Symbian OS now! [url]http://developer.symbian.org[/url]

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    65

    Re: Finally something to impress!

    I'd love to know a way to find out and correct what ever is wrong.
    Even after a complete from cold reboot of my machine within seconds we were back to this unable to edit squat behaviour.
    Don't tell me the only solution is to reinstall it all. I hope not, but I'm beginning to think that way.
    Is S60 development deliberately designed to frustrate, or have they achieved this level of complete incompetance by accident?

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    65

    Re: Finally something to impress!

    Can I 'uncorrupt' a corrupt workspace? What files are involved that perhaps I could look at?

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    8,345

    Re: [moved] Finally something to impress!

    Can you try with creating a new workspace and creating "HelloWorld GUI project" in it?
    Nokia Developer Wiki Moderation team

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    65

    Re: [moved] Finally something to impress!

    Of for FFFFFF, now apparently 'notifiying selection listeners' whatever the **** that is now has a problem, maybe thats why I can type 3 characters, do 10 minutes of internet browsing then come back and type another 3?????
    How the ****** do I create a new workspace and then get my existing project in it?????
    How the ****** does anyone ever actually acheive anything with this ******, its like tryign to do woodwork with a kids plastic tool box!!!!!

  8. #8
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: [moved] Finally something to impress!

    please try respecting the Forum Rules .

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    4,547

    Re: [moved] Finally something to impress!

    Quote Originally Posted by dhitchman View Post
    Of for FFFFFF, now apparently 'notifiying selection listeners' whatever the **** that is now has a problem, maybe thats why I can type 3 characters, do 10 minutes of internet browsing then come back and type another 3?????
    How the ****** do I create a new workspace and then get my existing project in it?????
    How the ****** does anyone ever actually acheive anything with this ******, its like tryign to do woodwork with a kids plastic tool box!!!!!
    Quite frankly, its not the IDE, but something in your setup as there are hundreds of thousands (possibly!! would be interesting to know the stats of how many people have downloaded it) are using it, and probably once in a while somebody faces a problem as you might think. I use one machine with two virtual machines on top of it..all of them co-habit happily and with enough speed..only once I felt it was a little slow..and it turns out that it was due to display driver mis-match (i know this might sound too basic, but thats what had happened) and the display was eating time to render. So instead of trying to blame the tool which is 'all in a days work' for most, you should be thinking out of the box and trying to figure out whats wrong with your setup.
    Hope you come out of this problem soon..Good Luck!

  10. #10
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    65

    Re: [moved] Finally something to impress!

    Created a new workspace, copied the project over, back to stumbling in the dark as before. What a rigmarole.

  11. #11
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    3,644

    Re: [moved] Finally something to impress!

    Don't copy your existing project over it may be corrupt.

    1. Create a new workspace
    2. create "Symbian OS C++ Project" and select "Gui Application"
    3. Try editing one of the file.

    Other things that will cause performance issues:
    Cheap Virus scanners scanning each file change
    Cheap backup programs copying each file changed
    Poor graphics cards (try switching the resolution to 1024x768)
    Running the workspace off a network drive
    Running the install off a network drive
    Download Symbian OS now! [url]http://developer.symbian.org[/url]

Similar Threads

  1. [moved] Need Help with SDK and tools
    By arabboi in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-12-05, 17:22
  2. [moved] free and good application
    By kit.ng in forum News and Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-08-29, 11:37
  3. [moved] HTTP connection problem with N95
    By katcapuli in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-08-20, 10:00
  4. [moved] Problem in GoogleMaps API page in wiki
    By gantony in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-07-10, 15:47
  5. try catch finally dilema
    By swc43@blueyonder.co.uk in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-02-03, 12:20

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×