×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    71

    Test python S60 program???

    If I want To test one program that I have made with pythonS60 on my mobile what do I need??
    suppose that I have Nokia70 what is the packages that I need I have found many things but I didnot no what to use
    thank you

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Deva, Romania
    Posts
    3,471

    Re: Test python S60 program???

    I assume that by Nokia70 you mean Nokia N70. If you only want to test a script you need the Python runtime and the script shell. If you want to test the application packed into a SIS file you will only need the runtime and you can follow these links for help on creating the SIS file from the script (assuming you are using S60 2nd Edition):
    http://mobilenin.com/pys60/info_stan...pplication.htm
    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...edition_phones

    Is that what you meant?
    Last edited by bogdan.galiceanu; 2009-04-23 at 13:56.

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    71

    Re: Test python S60 program???

    Thank you Mr.bogdan.galiceanu for the help
    Quote Originally Posted by bogdan.galiceanu View Post
    Is that what you meant?
    Yes actually that what I meant;and as you said that I want to test a script
    I have read about them but I didn't know how to choose the right one and according to what thank you again I will try what you put
    could I ask you one more question please?!Is the programming of 2nd edition mobiles same as third edition
    I mean should I use the same release of python or for each one is different release???

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Deva, Romania
    Posts
    3,471

    Re: Test python S60 program???

    Quote Originally Posted by programer_asal View Post
    Is the programming of 2nd edition mobiles same as third edition
    I mean should I use the same release of python or for each one is different release???
    Programming in Python for 2nd Edition and 3rd Edition is almost the same with version 1.4.5. The only significant difference is that some modules that are available for 3rd might not be available for 2nd. Whenever you have to do something, check the PyS60 Library Reference which describes what every PyS60 module can do.

    Of course there is also a difference in creating SIS files between 2nd and 3rd and the fact that PyS60 1.9.0 and later doesn't work on 2nd.

    I recommend that you use only 1.4.5 for now and when 2.0 is released, use that on 3rd Edition.

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    71

    Re: Test python S60 program???

    Quote Originally Posted by bogdan.galiceanu View Post
    Programming in Python for 2nd Edition and 3rd Edition is almost the same with version 1.4.5. The only significant difference is that some modules that are available for 3rd might not be available for 2nd. Whenever you have to do something, check the PyS60 Library Reference which describes what every PyS60 module can do.

    Of course there is also a difference in creating SIS files between 2nd and 3rd and the fact that PyS60 1.9.0 and later doesn't work on 2nd.

    I recommend that you use only 1.4.5 for now and when 2.0 is released, use that on 3rd Edition.
    Thank you very much for the clarification I will try to do what you have said,

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    71

    Re: Test python S60 program???

    thank you very much Mr.bogdan.galiceanu for the pyS60 library reference it seems very helpful actually I was looking for something like it

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Deva, Romania
    Posts
    3,471

    Re: Test python S60 program???

    I'm glad I was able to help. If you have any other questions please don't hesitate to ask

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    71

    Re: Test python S60 program???

    Hi I faced a problem actually when I was trying to execute this code
    channel =socket.bt_RFCOMM_get_available_server_channel(server)
    it told that this function is not imlemented and I opened the socket module and I found that it is not implemented for sure I found this
    def bt_rfcomm_get_available_server_channel(socket):
    return e32socket.bt_rfcomm_get_available_server_channel(_unwrap(socket))

    what should I do I need this function soooooooooooooo much
    to let you know I am using PythonForS60_1_4_5_SDK_2ndEdFP2(2)
    python 2.5
    thank you

  9. #9
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    71

    Re: Test python S60 program???

    Hi I faced a problem actually when I was trying to execute this code
    channel =socket.bt_RFCOMM_get_available_server_channel(server)
    it told that this function is not imlpemented and I opened the socket module and I found that it is not implemented for sure I found this
    def bt_rfcomm_get_available_server_channel(socket):
    return e32socket.bt_rfcomm_get_available_server_channel(_unwrap(socket))

    what should I do I need this function soooooooooooooo much
    to let you know I am using PythonForS60_1_4_5_SDK_2ndEdFP2(2)
    python 2.5
    thank you

  10. #10
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Deva, Romania
    Posts
    3,471

    Re: Test python S60 program???

    Quote Originally Posted by programer_asal View Post
    Hi I faced a problem actually when I was trying to execute this code
    channel =socket.bt_RFCOMM_get_available_server_channel(server)
    it told that this function is not imlemented and I opened the socket module and I found that it is not implemented for sure I found this
    def bt_rfcomm_get_available_server_channel(socket):
    return e32socket.bt_rfcomm_get_available_server_channel(_unwrap(socket))

    what should I do I need this function soooooooooooooo much
    to let you know I am using PythonForS60_1_4_5_SDK_2ndEdFP2(2)
    python 2.5
    thank you
    First of all, you're using PyS60 1.4.5 which is based on Python 2.2.2. So you can't possibly be using Python 2.5.

    Second, the function listed in the PyS60 Library Reference is bt_rfcomm_get_available_server_channel
    bt_rfcomm_get_available_server_channel(socket)
    Returns an available RFCOMM server channel for socket.
    I think the probelm is that you wrote RFCOMM in capitals instead of rfcomm. Remember that Python is case-sensitive

  11. #11
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    71

    Re: Test python S60 program???

    Quote Originally Posted by bogdan.galiceanu View Post
    First of all, you're using PyS60 1.4.5 which is based on Python 2.2.2. So you can't possibly be using Python 2.5.

    Second, the function listed in the PyS60 Library Reference is bt_rfcomm_get_available_server_channel


    I think the probelm is that you wrote RFCOMM in capitals instead of rfcomm. Remember that Python is case-sensitive
    Thank you Mr.bogdan.galiceanu again
    second about the RFCOMM I wrote it on small but I was mistaken when I write it on the fourm
    about the python 2.2.2 from where I can get it???and what is the relation between it and the socket module the socket module is installed when installing PythonForS60_1_4_5_SDK_2ndEdFP2(2)???right??

  12. #12
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Deva, Romania
    Posts
    3,471

    Re: Test python S60 program???

    Quote Originally Posted by programer_asal View Post
    about the python 2.2.2 from where I can get it???and what is the relation between it and the socket module the socket module is installed when installing PythonForS60_1_4_5_SDK_2ndEdFP2(2)???right??
    You don't have to get it unless you want to compile your scripts to byte code. Other than that it has nothing to do with PyS60. It's available here, if you really need it. Python for S60 1.4.5 and earlier is based on Python 2.2.2 while Python for S60 1.9.0 and later is based on Python 2.5.4 (I think 1.9.0 and 1.9.1 were based on 2.5.1).

  13. #13
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    71

    Re: Test python S60 program???

    Quote Originally Posted by bogdan.galiceanu View Post
    You don't have to get it unless you want to compile your scripts to byte code. Other than that it has nothing to do with PyS60. It's available here, if you really need it. Python for S60 1.4.5 and earlier is based on Python 2.2.2 while Python for S60 1.9.0 and later is based on Python 2.5.4 (I think 1.9.0 and 1.9.1 were based on 2.5.1).
    I don't know how I can Thank you Mr.bogdan.galiceanu you helped me to much I will downloaD IT RIGHT NOW AND CHECK IT
    SORRY FOR TAKING YOUR TIME

  14. #14
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    71

    Re: Test python S60 program???

    I downloaded python 2.2.2 but the same problem
    what should I do ??
    although it is simple code it didn't applied

    import socket
    def Connection():
    server = socket.socket(socket.AF_INET, socket.SOCK_STREAM)
    print "Socket created..."
    channel =socket.bt_rfcomm_get_available_server_channel(server)
    print "Waitting"
    Connection()

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-04-23, 08:25
  2. Python for S60 1.9.3 released
    By tvijayan in forum Symbian
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 2009-04-03, 15:00
  3. Icons in s60
    By drizzt6 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-03-06, 09:32
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2007-10-03, 19:46
  5. novice howto for mobile program development
    By terchris in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-10-17, 21:55

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×