×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    8

    Unresolved breakpoints in UI classes

    Hi all,

    I am having trouble with on device debug with Qt and GCCE.
    The application runs fine on the phone but every breakpoint I put in any other file than main.cpp is "unresolved". I noticed in the Executables View that only this cpp and its symbols appear.
    When I compile for WINSCW, the Executables View shows all the cpp files in the project and all the breakpoints are resolved.

    So 2 questions for you experts :
    Is there a relation between the unresolved breakpoints and the "missing" symbols ? (I guess so, but maybe you know better than I do)
    Is there something missing / broken in my on device debug configuration ? Or is there a workaround / a way to force the symbols for debugging ?

    Regards,
    Jonathan

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    8

    Re: Unresolved breakpoints in UI classes

    I rearranged the files in the project, which had an impact on the .pro file, and then on the .mmp file. The order of the cpp files in the .mmp has slightly changed : main.cpp was the first file in the list and was the only one which symbols appeared in the Executables View ; now another file is first in the list and it's the only one to be shown in the Executables View...

    I rearranged the project back the way it was and main.cpp went back to the Executables View.

    So only the first source file listed in the mmp gets debug symbols ?
    Anyone has the same behavior using GCCE Phone Debug ?

    Edit: at least one person has encountered the problem before (http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...d.php?t=114530) but I can't find a way to edit the mmp file, it is regenerated from the .pro file during compilation... Anyway to avoid that ?
    Last edited by jonathan.derrough; 2009-04-28 at 14:42.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3

    Re: Unresolved breakpoints in UI classes

    I'm having almost the same problem with GCCE Phone Debug and Qt; the only difference is that even my main.cpp doesn't get breakpoints. WINSCW breakpoints work fine, but that's not sufficient because I need to use the acceleration sensor. Rearranging the files didn't appear to change anything. The GCCE Phone Debug build configuration is checked, just like it should be.

    Have you found a solution yet?

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    8

    Re: Unresolved breakpoints in UI classes

    Hi,

    No solution yet, I had to work on something else for the past few weeks but I'll get back to it today and keep you posted.

    Regards,
    Jonathan

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    468

    Re: Unresolved breakpoints in UI classes

    Hi,
    "I can't find a way to edit the mmp file, it is regenerated from the .pro file during compilation... Anyway to avoid that ?"

    In case really needed one trick is to set the mmp file as read only so qmake won't override it.

    Cheers,
    Jack

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3

    Re: Unresolved breakpoints in UI classes

    I can confirm this.

    Changing the order of the source files in the .pro file always end with debug symbols for only the first one of the source files! Very strange behavior.

    Tried it with an up to date Carbide, qt-garden and SDK-5th / SDK-3rd_FP1-OpenC.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    8

    Re: Unresolved breakpoints in UI classes

    Are you all working with GCCE?
    Anybody can give us feedback on breakpoints & on-device debugging using RVCT (the proprietary ARM compiler used with the ARMV5 configuration)?

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3

    Re: Unresolved breakpoints in UI classes

    Working with GCCE...

  9. #9
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    286

    Re: Unresolved breakpoints in UI classes

    Quote Originally Posted by jonathan.derrough View Post
    Are you all working with GCCE?
    Anybody can give us feedback on breakpoints & on-device debugging using RVCT (the proprietary ARM compiler used with the ARMV5 configuration)?
    Software breakpoints and symbol loading works with RVCT/TRK.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3

    Re: Unresolved breakpoints in UI classes

    I can confirm that breakpoints in Qt 4.5.2 projects work fine with the supported build of RVCT 2.2.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    5

    Re: Unresolved breakpoints in UI classes

    I can confirm the problem with Carbide 2.02 (and qt-tower). I hope that this problem will be fixed soon since it debugging without breakpoints is very cumbersome. Should I report this somewhere?

  12. #12
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    468

    Re: Unresolved breakpoints in UI classes

    Hi,
    what ever is not in http://labs.trolltech.com/page/QtforS60KnownIssues is worth reporting.

    Like said in the download pages

    We have set up a special mailinglist for feedback on the S60 port. The address of the mailinglist is:

    qts60-feedback@trolltech.com
    please join if you want to provide technical feedback, bug reports, suggestions or comments. In order to join the mailing list send a mail to:

    qts60-feedback-request@trolltech.com
    with the subject set to: subscribe. In order to leave the list send a mail with the subject set to: unsubscribe. This will be an open list so make sure not to share sensitive information. The list is read by all the developers working on the port so this is the most direct route to share your feedback with us. Make sure you check out the FAQ and the Known issues before reporting.


    Cheers,
    Jack

  13. #13
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    468

    Re: Unresolved breakpoints in UI classes

    BTW big thanks for reporting and verifying these issues, it helps others a lot!

    Cheers,
    Jack

  14. #14
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,578

    Re: Unresolved breakpoints in UI classes

    A defect has been raised on the Symbian Foundation website: http://developer.symbian.org/bugs/show_bug.cgi?id=328

    However we've not been able to reproduce this internally. It would help if anyone who can reproduce this can record it on the defect, along with pertinent information:
    1. OS version (Vista, XP)
    2. SDK Version
    3. Perl version
    4. Qt version
    5. Java versions
    Basically, check everything here: http://developer.symbian.org/wiki/in...p_correctly%3F

    Also helpful to know if you can debug Symbian C++ applications or Open C/C++ applications, or if this is just Qt applications being affected (just create a wizard project and attempt to debug)

  15. #15
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    468

    Re: Unresolved breakpoints in UI classes

    Hi Hamish,
    nice to see you're back

    Feel free to contact your old friends in Forum Nokia if you need more help on this one.

    Cheers,
    Jack

Similar Threads

  1. error LNK2001: Please Help
    By sourish_khan in forum Symbian
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2006-04-19, 11:16
  2. S80 Platform SDK and Visual Studio .NET Linking Error
    By jayantjain in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-10-07, 22:14
  3. CEikDialog Question
    By AdamBeck in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-09-30, 19:40
  4. Dialogs within Symbian 6.0 based SDK
    By georgica1979 in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2003-04-07, 15:29
  5. Unresolved external symbols problem
    By georgica1979 in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-04-06, 13:26

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •