×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4

    Question PAMP memory leak?

    Hi All,

    I have a symbian C++ application which uses PAMP as the server. It will keep running unless the phone is shut down. However, after a night running, the phone will give message said "Memory is full". Then I have to restart the phone to continue use the application. I was wondering is that the problem with the PAMP? Does any body else has this similar problem? If it is, how to solve this problem?

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    457

    Re: PAMP memory leak?

    Quote Originally Posted by weileylee View Post
    I have a symbian C++ application which uses PAMP as the server. It will keep running unless the phone is shut down. However, after a night running, the phone will give message said "Memory is full". Then I have to restart the phone to continue use the application. I was wondering is that the problem with the PAMP? Does any body else has this similar problem? If it is, how to solve this problem?
    Yes, I have seen that behaviour. And it is a bit strange, considering that unless somebody is accessing the server, both Apache and MySQL should do nothing.

    Currently, the only remedy is to restart the servers, but if the memory-full condition already has been reached, you probably can't do that. So, you need to do that before the condition is reached.

    There are client libraries for both Apache and MySQL using which you can start and stop the servers, so you could write a small application that starts and then restarts the servers at regular intervals.

    Br,
    Johan

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    24

    Re: PAMP memory leak?

    Not exactly this behaviour, but I got an error with MySQL after doing N insertions. Maybe because memory problems.

    At the beginning, I saw that after doing 800 inserts (64kb in table) in my table (I did 2 inserts per second with the GPS value), the table was not readable anymore, and the Python script was no able to insert values anymore.

    I changed the INSERT SQL code to a REPLACE SQL code, to do a RoundRobin Database, so tha table is 50kb maximum, and, even it takes longer, it still crashes after N time.

    Now I changed the code to do 1 insert per 5 seconds, to give some relieve to the server, and check during a whole night if it crashes or not.

    I will also track the process in a text file, and I will do some statistics during some nights to see if I can figure out what can be the reason for the crashes.

    I'm not related with the PAMP project, so don't expect solutions from me, but I wouold like to come with some tests if you want me to try.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    9

    Re: PAMP memory leak?

    Hi, weileylee.

    I used FineWS 2.2 instead of PAMP.
    I bought it on http://www.o2litmus.co.uk/applications/finews-1.

    They said that "So, many web applications under LAMP(Linux + Apache + MySQL + PHP) (for example phpmyadmin) can be used directly in FineWS 2.2.".
    So, I used phpmyadmin contained in FineWS 2.2.
    PHP version was also 5.2 such as on PAMP.
    But, they didn't provide mysql, so, I downloaded pamp_mysql_bin on http://downloads.sourceforge.net/pam...bin_1_0_2b.zip and installed mysql_1_0_2.sis, mysqlui_1_0_2.sis on my phone.

    If you used PAMP, then I recommend start only mysql-server , but httpd.
    and run FineWS 2.2.
    Then you can see phpmyadmin. I think it is very stabile.
    It did not say "Memory is full".

Similar Threads

  1. memory leak on emulator = memory leak on device
    By manmli in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-08-05, 19:54
  2. Memory Leak After Leave
    By gowthamyemme in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-02-23, 19:35
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-02-20, 11:51
  4. severe memory leak when using CSendAppUi ( Nokia 7650 )
    By ejurinsky in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2002-12-05, 10:13
  5. can not successfully link any sample using .NET
    By lobotomat in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2002-08-20, 00:29

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×