Discussion Board

Thumbs down Independent developers treated as second class citizens?

In the run-up to the launch of the Ovi Store I've tried endlessly to find an answer to a simple question: If I am an independent developer working on a Symbian app (WRT app/widget in my case), will I be able to publish on the Ovi Store? While my inquiries have gone largely unanswered, from searching forums and such it seems the answer is going to be a resounding "NO".

Nokia/Symbian already make proper application development difficult if not impossible for non-corporate entities - the fees required for testing and signing can be prohibitively expensive for an individual - especially if they're developing a FREEWARE app! Not to mention the fact that an individual simply cannot get a Publisher ID.

Do the minds at Nokia think that only commercially developed applications are worth using/publishing? Some of the most fantastic apps I use on a daily basis are freeware or made by independent developers. There are many great free apps - Gmail, Google Maps, Qik, etc, but these are all from corporate entities so it's easy for them to sign/distribute the apps.

By treating independent developers like second-class citizens, Nokia is going to push developers away and towards other platforms such as iPhone, Windows Mobile, Android, etc.

Why no love for indie developers???

(Retired) Nokia Developer Admin.

Re: Independent developers treated as second class citizens?

Unfortunnately there is a lot of FUD in this thread because Nokia Ovi Store people have been so swamped they can't answer promtply. I take some of the blame for this as I was slow in responding to this and expected them to start "any time now".

The conclusions you have drawn are incorrect for example an application calls for a ID but that is just your personal Tax ID number, there are numerous other ones dealing with signing and verification that have been distorted.