Discussion Board

Thread: NewBie Question

Regular Contributor

NewBie Question

Hello, I am new to programming in the Symbian Platform. I want to develop an application for the Nokia N97 smartphone which will use the GPS. I read from 1-2 reseach papers that some people has problems with Java SDK while reading values from GPS. I am currently thinking about using C++. My first question is that is there any people having experience about reading GPS coordinates from Java SDK. I also assume that GPS works properly without data plan unlike android or IPhone, is it correct?

My Second question is that I usually use Eclipse for C++ development. Which SDK and other programs (Emulator tools) do I need to download for developing Symbian Applications for Nokia N97 smartphone? What is the most suitable tool for developing Symbian Applications with C++ rather than Eclipse (maybe other tools with some plugins). I much appreciate direct answers rather than links to other threads since I have difficulty to get direct answers to my questions. Thanks.

Super Contributor

Re: NewBie Question

Hi MuratMetu,
    If all you wish is to aquire GPS co-ordinates using the integrated GPS receivers, you do not need a data plan.
    Carbide C++ is a good IDE to use and you will have to download S60 5th edition SDK.
    If you chose to use Symbian C++,then you can achieve GPS positioning using lbs.api
    http://www.newlc.com/files/FirstGps.zip is a good example to start with..

Regards,
    Biju

Regular Contributor