I have a self-signed app and I am looking to change it into a symbian-signed app soon, but have a problem.
By changing all the UIDs from unprotected to protected ones the device will see the symbian-signed version as a new application and fail to install it if someone has already installed the self-signed version.
Is there a way of forcing an uninstall of the old version so that it is possible to update the app without problems? If not, what is the best practice? Do I change the names of all the files that it installs so that the install will succeed, but you end up with two versions of the app installed, or do I keep the filenames the same so that the install will fail and try to explain to people that they need to uninstall the old version or is there another solution?