Discussion Board

Regular Contributor

PyS60 capabilites

Hi!

I'm currently doing my thesis following up the the work of another student, in developing an application for the S60 3rd edition platform. The application is currently written in Symbian C++ and I'm wasting a lot of time getting my head around its workings.

I'm thinking about suggesting that I potr the program to python and continue my work from there, but first I would like to make sure that it's really a viable option. I've done some python programming and I know a lot of the advantages it has compared to other languages, but what are its limitations on the S60 platform? Are all the standard libraries available? What about speed?

The application I'm working on mainly collects some data about the mobile network, saves them to a file and displays a summary of them on the screen. The summary is displayed using text and a couple of colord-bar-graphs updated each second, nothing graphically fancy at all. This should not be a problem to do in python right?

We are using a proprietary Symbian specific c++ library, I will have no problem calling this from python right?

Finally, which GUI toolkit does python use on the S60?

Thank you for your help!
    //T

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: PyS60 capabilites

Hi,

Quote Originally Posted by ojve View Post
    I'm thinking about suggesting that I potr the program to python and continue my work from there, but first I would like to make sure that it's really a viable option. I've done some python programming and I know a lot of the advantages it has compared to other languages, but what are its limitations on the S60 platform? Are all the standard libraries available? What about speed?
    Speed shouldn't be an issue, though it is a bit slower than the native language, Symbian C++. Unless you have some very complex operations to do you probably won't notice any major speed difference.