×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Widget launch

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    37

    Widget launch

    Hi,

    Is it possible for a widget to call/launch another widget, which has already been installed? Please help.

    Thanks,
    Shankx

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Rome, Italy
    Posts
    2,406

    Re: Widget launch

    Hi Shankx,

    it is possible by using the GetList() method of AppManager Service API to retrieve the widget's UID, and then by using the LaunchApp() (or widget.openApplication) method to launch it.

    Pit

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    37

    Re: Widget launch

    Hi Pit,

    Thanks a ton.

    Regards,
    Shankx

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    104

    Re: Widget launch

    Hi,

    I am trying to use this method to launch another widget from my own widget. This method works fine on N97 and N86 but doesn't fully work on 5800.

    On 5800, after I trigger the function, it will jump to the new widget but the main area is blank. If I jump back to app. menu I can see that widget is actually running. And when I select that widget from the app. short-cut list (by long pressing Menu key), the widget UI will show correctly again.



    Any idea why this happens only on 5800?

    Thanks,

    Picco

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    75

    Re: Widget launch

    Hi all,

    I am also trying to launch inbuilt applications like phonebook,music player from my app.

    Here's the code I'm using:

    void CtestAppView::LaunchMidletL(const TInt& aMidletID)
    {
    TUid id( TUid::Uid( aMidletID ) );
    TThreadId threadId;
    TInt err=iApaSession.StartDocument(_L(""), id, threadId); TBuf<10> uid;
    _LIT(KUid, "%x");
    uid.AppendFormat(KUid, aMidletID);
    if(err==KErrNotFound)
    {
    CEikonEnv::Static()->InfoWinL(_L("Application Not found with UID: "),uid);
    }

    }

    But its panicking with KERN-EXEC 0 at the mentioned red line.
    I googled about the panic, but could not sort out.

    Plz help...

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    117

    Re: Widget launch

    Quote Originally Posted by jappit View Post
    Hi Shankx,

    it is possible by using the GetList() method of AppManager Service API to retrieve the widget's UID, and then by using the LaunchApp() (or widget.openApplication) method to launch it.

    Pit
    good to know
    chrs pit,
    Wen
    Nokia is back!

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    161

    Re: Widget launch

    Does anyone know about the possibility to launch Opera Mobile, Opera Mini (JAVA) or Opera Mini (Native) and let them open one specific URL?
    (Paraphrased: Bypassing the problem that on S60 you cannot choose your standard webbrowser on OS level-)

Similar Threads

  1. Launch widget from Java application
    By soumyso in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-06-04, 09:32
  2. Howto launch a local app from widget?
    By caonikia in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-03-26, 13:14
  3. My widget stopped working. Feed read timeout
    By miklos.szanyi@gmail.com in forum Widsets Development
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-01-23, 10:00
  4. How to launch a Widget in an applicaion
    By eling0167 in forum Symbian
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2008-11-18, 08:15

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×