×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27

    Question A "No source available" error ... so miserable!

    Hi, I use Carbide.c++ 1.3.
    Today, I modified the RSS file a little bit, but a red "No source available..."
    error came out. I was so sure that the modifying is right.
    And, when I recovered the
    RSS file, the error was still there. Then I cleaned the project, and even reloaded all,
    but it didn't work!

    Could somebody tell me why?
    And how to fix it...

    Thanks ahead!

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    4,559

    Re: A "No source available" error ... so miserable!

    Quote Originally Posted by silent smile View Post
    Hi, I use Carbide.c++ 1.3.
    Today, I modified the RSS file a little bit, but a red "No source available..."
    error came out. I was so sure that the modifying is right.
    And, when I recovered the
    RSS file, the error was still there. Then I cleaned the project, and even reloaded all,
    but it didn't work!

    Could somebody tell me why?
    And how to fix it...

    Thanks ahead!
    -Well, it would be difficult to know about what changes you did to the resources file and if its right unless somebody sees the code.
    -Please mention what edition of SDK you are working on?
    -Any particular reason why you are using Carbide 1.3 when a much improved free version of 2.0 is available?

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27

    Re: A "No source available" error ... so miserable!

    Quote Originally Posted by Symbian_Neil View Post
    -Well, it would be difficult to know about what changes you did to the resources file and if its right unless somebody sees the code.
    -Please mention what edition of SDK you are working on?
    -Any particular reason why you are using Carbide 1.3 when a much improved free version of 2.0 is available?
    Thank you for your concern!
    I'm working with S60 3.1 and the TRK facility is Nokia 6120c.
    Carbide 2.0's TRK function doesn't work well in Nokia 6120c. so
    I still use the 1.3 version.

    But it is so strange that the error still exists after I replace the whole project with the previous one.
    I can't understand why...

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    4,559

    Re: A "No source available" error ... so miserable!

    Quote Originally Posted by silent smile View Post
    But it is so strange that the error still exists after I replace the whole project with the previous one.
    I can't understand why...
    Did you try reallyclean and then build?
    You could alternatively search yourproject*.* in epoc directory and delete them and then build.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27

    Re: A "No source available" error ... so miserable!

    Quote Originally Posted by Symbian_Neil View Post
    Did you try reallyclean and then build?
    You could alternatively search yourproject*.* in epoc directory and delete them and then build.
    Excuse me but does "reallyclean" means "Project -> clean..."? or if there's any diffenrence between "clean" & "reallyclean".
    I'll try to delete the whole project in epoc directory, thanks!

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    4,559

    Re: A "No source available" error ... so miserable!

    Quote Originally Posted by silent smile View Post
    Excuse me but does "reallyclean" means "Project -> clean..."? or if there's any diffenrence between "clean" & "reallyclean".
    I'll try to delete the whole project in epoc directory, thanks!
    If you enable project specific settings, in SDSv1 tab you will find the clean level. Level 0 is by default. you can try level 1 or level 2.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27

    Re: A "No source available" error ... so miserable!

    No, it doesn't work, to your disappointment.
    The error comes after invoking a Container's ActivateL() function, does it mean anything?

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    4,559

    Re: A "No source available" error ... so miserable!

    Quote Originally Posted by silent smile View Post
    No, it doesn't work, to your disappointment.
    The error comes after invoking a Container's ActivateL() function, does it mean anything?
    That means that it might not be the problem with resource, but elsewhere. You should debug the application and find what error is coming (if it panics, then whats the panic code, etc) http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...lp_for_dummies will help you to describe your problem.

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,734

    Re: A "No source available" error ... so miserable!

    You should get the panic code, check http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...ded_panic_code

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27

    Re: A "No source available" error ... so miserable!

    Oh, I seemed to find out the causing...

    Code:
    	
    iSettingsArray->Reset();
    HBufC16* item;    
    item=StringLoader::LoadLC(R_SETTINGS_HIGH);
    iSettingsArray->AppendL(*item);
    //CleanupStack::PopAndDestroy(item);  (1)
    If commented (1), there will be no error invoking ActivateL(), but the program collapsed later.
    If not commented (1), the program will be down when ActivateL() is invoked.

    So, I think the previous code has something wrong.
    And, another code bellow seems buggy as well:

    Code:
    HBufC16* whiteListItem=HBufC16::NewL(50);
    HBufC16* formatter=StringLoader::LoadLC(R_SETTINGS_WHITE_LIST);
    HBuf16 <50> formattedItem;
    formattedItem.Format(*formatter, iWhiteListItemsNumber);
    TPtr16 ptr(whiteListItem->Des());
    ptr.Copy(formattedItem);
    iSettingsArray->AppendL(*whiteListItem);
    //CleanupStack::PopAndDestroy(whiteListItem);  (2)
    CleanupStack::PopAndDestroy(formatter);
    Alikely, if I don't comment (2) the program will collapse asap.
    So, what's the problem, could you plz figure it out?

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27

    Re: A "No source available" error ... so miserable!

    Quote Originally Posted by wizard_hu_ View Post
    You should get the panic code, check http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...ded_panic_code
    How to get the panic code, when I'm running through TRK?
    The program vanished when I switch the view, which triggers error...

    Thanks!

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    27

    Re: A "No source available" error ... so miserable!

    Yeah! The FIRST code is wrong, I tried....
    But how to improve?

    Could you tell me?

Similar Threads

  1. Custom App Icon?
    By Rozik in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-04-02, 10:37
  2. why my application icon doesn't appear?
    By Zefa in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2007-03-15, 10:50
  3. Link Errors Help me
    By TrungThanhMtad in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-10-15, 05:13

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×