Discussion Board

Symbian C++ Map Tracking Application (pan and zoom the map + send and receive SMS)

Dear Developers,

I'm new to Symbian C++ programming, but I have good experiments of C#, ANSI C and a little J2ME.

Some months ago I have written a J2ME application for showing our city map (with method of loading png tiles) that user could pan and zoom it. Afterward, when I've wanted to add the feature of reading SMS messages from Inbox, I have understood that J2ME doesn't allow applications to listen and read Inbox messages! Because of this weakness of J2ME, I am on migrating to Symbian C++ these days.

By the way, I want to know is there any developer having useful experience or example source code in this fields:
    - An application code featuring pan and zoom of map tiles;
    - An application code featuring send and receive SMS messages.

Let's provide here useful knowledge about this type of application for anyone who needs help around (referring to the post title!).

Thanks friends,
    Iman

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: Symbian C++ Map Tracking Application (pan and zoom the map + send and receive SMS

check the examples section for full SMS example project, also Wiki would have nice smaller examples available. For Maps there is no API ithat would be included in the SDK.

Re: Symbian C++ Map Tracking Application (pan and zoom the map + send and receive SMS

Thanks symbianyucca. Anybody else?

Jukka's answer is as complete as possible: look for examples on this site

If you search for "SMS location example" you will find a Forum Nokia example that does the location sending / receiving part. It was intended to do the map manipulation part too but we had to drop that feature since the required APIs have not been published.

However, there is an example in the Wiki which uses Google's Maps API to solve the maps rendering issue. Have a look there and search for "Google map c++" (or similar)
    -- Lucian