×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mumbai,India
    Posts
    35

    is it necessary to use active objects?

    Hi All,
    In game development is it necessary to use active objects or is there any other way to achieve the same task? (what if i use RThread class?)

    Thanks
    Deepti

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,166

    Re: is it necessary to use active objects?

    you can use multi-threading as well, but Active objects are generally more light weight and easier to implment..

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,020

    Re: is it necessary to use active objects?

    Depends on what you want to do. You can theoretically also do it like on the palm with a polling event loop!
    The lines above are the best I have to offer.If anyone of you is of more advanced knowledge, I ask for your patience and understanding! - unknown arab poet
    http://www.tamoggemon.com - Symbian blog - Windows Phone blog
    My other blogs:
    webOS blog iPhone blog BlackBerry blog Samsung bada blog Android blog

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,481

    Re: is it necessary to use active objects?

    It depends on your requirements/use case.

    -Multiple threads lead to increasing number of context switches increasing system overhead.
    -Programmer need to take care of synchronization, deadlock and other process management issues making programming more complex.

    For this reasons Symbian invented AO. Polling could be another options but here we waste CPU cycle just for checking.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Mumbai,India
    Posts
    35

    Re: is it necessary to use active objects?

    hey thanx for ur replies

    actually i'm converting a game from j2me on symbian. i've used threading there to handle splash screen and actual game canvas. what do u suggest me in this situation, what should i use?

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,697

    Re: is it necessary to use active objects?

    Then forget threads, accessing Symbian GUI from a secondary thread is really painful.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2009-02-06, 11:56
  2. Wrong implementation of active object
    By petr_kovar in forum Symbian
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 2008-12-04, 00:28
  3. Active objects in EXE second thread
    By inguvaseshu in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2006-08-10, 05:35
  4. using active objects
    By dgobin in forum Symbian
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2003-10-22, 16:08
  5. panicking active objects
    By kratom in forum Symbian
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2003-04-18, 07:20

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×