×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    in my home :D
    Posts
    20

    Lightbulb do we can add API on NOKIA ???

    please tell me if i can add API 179 (location to my 6280 or my N73 FP1 ???
    fail to prepare, is prepare to fail !!

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    81

    Re: do we can add API on NOKIA ???

    No, this is not possible to add any jsr manually to phone.

    Thanks
    Last edited by lalitendu_panda; 2009-07-14 at 12:08.

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Capital of INDIA
    Posts
    4,328

    Re: do we can add API on NOKIA ???

    Quote Originally Posted by Anerty View Post
    please tell me if i can add API 179 (location to my 6280 or my N73 FP1 ???
    Hi,
    If you will check the supported JSR/API's for the device 6280,then these are follow-
    Java Technology
    JSR 139 Connected, Limited Device Configuration (CLDC) 1.1
    JSR 118 MIDP 2.0
    JSR 185 Java™ Technology for Wireless Industry
    JSR 75 FileConnection and PIM API
    JSR 82 Bluetooth API
    JSR 120 Wireless Messaging API 1.0
    JSR 135 Mobile Media API
    JSR 184 Mobile 3D Graphics API for J2ME™
    JSR 226 Scalable 2D Vector Graphics API
    Nokia UI API
    So as you are looking these supported API then this JSR is not supported by this device.
    However if you will check the techinical details for the N73 these are as follow-
    Java Technology
    JSR 139 Connected, Limited Device Configuration (CLDC) 1.1
    JSR 118 MIDP 2.0
    JSR 185 Java™ Technology for Wireless Industry
    JSR 75 FileConnection and PIM API
    JSR 82 Bluetooth API
    JSR 135 Mobile Media API
    JSR 172 J2ME™ Web Services Specification
    JSR 177 Security and Trust Services API for J2ME™
    JSR 179 Location API for J2ME™ 1.0
    JSR 180 SIP API for J2ME™
    JSR 184 Mobile 3D Graphics API for J2ME™
    JSR 205 Wireless Messaging API 2.0
    Nokia UI API
    As you are looking at the supported API the JSR is listed there and hence this device N73 supported.
    Thanks with Regards,

    R a j - The K e r n e l


    Join Delhi-NCR Nokia Developer's Community,

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Capital of INDIA
    Posts
    4,328

    Re: do we can add API on NOKIA ???

    Quote Originally Posted by lalitendu_panda View Post
    No, this is not possible.

    Thanks
    Hi Have you ever check the technical features for the Nokia N73,kindly read the same in my latest post or just read the lines-
    Java Technology JSR 139 Connected, Limited Device Configuration (CLDC) 1.1
    JSR 118 MIDP 2.0
    JSR 185 Java™ Technology for Wireless Industry
    JSR 75 FileConnection and PIM API
    JSR 82 Bluetooth API
    JSR 135 Mobile Media API
    JSR 172 J2ME™ Web Services Specification
    JSR 177 Security and Trust Services API for J2ME™
    JSR 179 Location API for J2ME™ 1.0
    JSR 180 SIP API for J2ME™
    JSR 184 Mobile 3D Graphics API for J2ME™
    JSR 205 Wireless Messaging API 2.0
    Nokia UI API
    And this JSR is supported ,
    Thanks with Regards,

    R a j - The K e r n e l


    Join Delhi-NCR Nokia Developer's Community,

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    387

    Re: do we can add API on NOKIA ???

    N73 comes inbuild support for 179 so have fun man. but 6280 not.
    Thanks and Regards,
    Manjul.

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    81

    Re: do we can add API on NOKIA ???

    Hi raj_j2me see carefully what he is asking. He is asking to add jsr179 manually to phone. Have u ever added jsr to phone ??


    Thanks

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Capital of INDIA
    Posts
    4,328

    Re: do we can add API on NOKIA ???

    Hi,
    LOL,no I believe in writing the post only,
    You can come ahead and explain,please.

    And nothing is manual,if the device does not support,and nothing is impossible if the device have inbuilt support,
    Thanks with Regards,

    R a j - The K e r n e l


    Join Delhi-NCR Nokia Developer's Community,

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    81

    Re: do we can add API on NOKIA ???

    Quote Originally Posted by raj_J2ME View Post
    Hi,
    LOL,no I believe in writing the post only,
    You can come ahead and explain,please.

    And nothing is manual,if the device does not support,and nothing is impossible if the device have inbuilt support,
    Great !Good thinking

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    in my home :D
    Posts
    20

    Re: do we can add API on NOKIA ???

    thx for all people for him reply, i my goal is not really to add 179 to nokia 6280 but, just to run my application that they use CELL-ID !!

    on n73 they tell me : CELL-ID : NULL :/

    any idea ???
    fail to prepare, is prepare to fail !!

  10. #10
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,708

    Re: do we can add API on NOKIA ???

    ok, you have been sending me several private messages today but still to no avail so I will repeat it here so that other people can share this information :

    The Location API does NOT supply the cell-id to a developer : just go thriugh the Location API's documentation and you will discover that there is no method that a developer can call which supplies the cell-id...
    The Location API DOES state that it has several methods to establish a position :
    - gps
    - external device through bluetooth
    - cell
    Actually the developer has no means (programmatically) to force the API to use one of those methods, the API will just supply a LocationProvider which in its opinion will supply the best Location in that moment in time.
    The cell-id methodlogy has to be supported by your local network provider, but experience tells us virtually 99% of the providers like to keep that information for themselves so simply don't expect it to work...

    I do understand you are completely lost and dazed, but all you actually need to know, and what I have told you about 5 times now, is that you CANNOT retrieve the cell-id through the Location-API's...
    Unless you can show me some piece of documentation/and or method-call in the API that states the opposite just accept it and go on with all the other hints and tips I gave you and others as well in your other topics...

    For other people looking on how to obtain the cell-id (and actually devices that support that) :
    - check the wiki and search for cell-id in Java
    - when you have found the article (hint : it contains something about a system propriety) read it through, it's pretty short. Then read it again. Did you notice it's a call which is NOT supported on ALL devices ? Good, then write down the platform that DOES support that call. Yes, it's really mentioned in the artcile, if you can't find it please read it again. Write those down !
    - now that you have the platform use the green Devices button on the upper-left-handside of the scree. When that is loaded there is a "advanced device search" option. Select that as well, now insert the platforms you found and voila ! You have a list of devices which should be able to return you the cell-id !!!

  11. #11
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    7,395

    Re: do we can add API on NOKIA ???

    If you're using System.getProperty() to get the cell ID, this is not part of JSR 179.

    JSR 179 does not provide a feature for finding the cell ID. An implementation of JSR 179 might use the cell ID internally to estimate your position, but it will tell you only a lattitude, longitude and accuracy radius.

    You cannot obtain the cell ID from a 6280, and not from an N73 using Java.

    Graham.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    in my home :D
    Posts
    20

    Re: do we can add API on NOKIA ???

    ok ok, i know that your informationn is corect (100%), but you say that i can have latitude, longitude and radius, thay can help me to geolocalize my self ???
    fail to prepare, is prepare to fail !!

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    in my home :D
    Posts
    20

    Re: do we can add API on NOKIA ???

    this is the article on wiki :

    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph..._ID_in_Java_ME

    and "tested on devices" is void !!!
    fail to prepare, is prepare to fail !!

  14. #14
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,708

    Re: do we can add API on NOKIA ???

    aahhh.. you are getting close, right across tested devices there is another field
    that one will tell you what platform supports that system property call...
    now you only have to do the last step of my three steps explanation, and that is to find a device with that platform

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    in my home :D
    Posts
    20

    Re: do we can add API on NOKIA ???

    oooooooooooookey, i will try on N95, and i feel that will work [^_^]

    i will tell you the result tomorow, but now i'm going to hooooooooooome, i will studing J2ME this night to process devlopping my application.

    tell me if you know any way to use latitude ... to geolocalise mobile
    fail to prepare, is prepare to fail !!

Similar Threads

  1. Series 60Series 60 MIDP Concept SDK Beta 0.2 Linux bug?
    By kauppi in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2003-04-07, 09:05

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×