×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    12

    Question .PY works, .SIS doesn't

    Hi,

    I have written an application in python (Pys60) that records the GSM/UMTS network information (using "location" in Pys60 and Chris Berger's "elocation") and also records GPS location (using "location"), and then sends this info from my Nokia N95 via URL to my web server.

    I have signed the "elocation" module and my python Script shell via "Open Signed", and everything works great. Until...

    When I use Ensymble 0.28 (I have Python 2.5 in my Ubuntu machine, and I'm using Pys60 1.4.5 on my phone) I use the py2sis, doing:

    ensymble.py py2sis --caps=LocalServices+ReadUserData+etc.. myapp.sis(I apply all possible CAPS allowed, basic and extended, including especially Location, Read/Write DeviceData, Read/Write UserData). I then upload it to Open-Signed On-Line.

    The SIS application runs all the way thru, and even confirms it sent the data. But when I check my server, no info is received (??). When I run the .py file (exact same as used in the py2sis) in the scriptshell, it works everytime (??).

    What is the SIS file doing differently from the PY? Or did I not make the SIS file correctly? I'm confused...

    PS- I use MD5 also, does this need any special treatemnt in terms of "signing" or "caps", or any other hoops of fire that need to be jumped thru?

    PPS- As someone new to Symbian programming, I have to say I'm really happy by the ease of use and support given, however the "signing" and "capabilities" process really makes it a case of "one step forward, two steps back" I understand the need for security, but can't the user just simply agree to allow the app these abilities themselves? Why is Symbian complicating things with the current processes?
    Last edited by RadioRaider; 2009-07-23 at 13:55.

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    21.46 N 72.11 E
    Posts
    3,796

    Re: .PY works, .SIS doesn't

    Try to debugg the SIS file using one of the techniques here. That might help,

    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...ing_techniques
    Pankaj Nathani
    www.croozeus.com

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    12

    Re: .PY works, .SIS doesn't

    Thanks croozeus, but I'm not sure if that will really help, as it doesn't seem to be a "bug" in the normal sense. If my program fails to retraive GSM network info, or GPS, it won't make it all the way to the end anyway, in PY or SIS form. I even get the "data sent" confirmation from the SIS, which means the phone contacted my webserver. The problem is that either it's sending empty data, or wrong data, or..? I will also investigate on the server side, but I'm baffeled why the PY script works, but the SIS doesn't?? If the SIS is given correct CAPS and signed via "Open Signed On-Line", then really, how is the SIS different from the original PY??

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    21.46 N 72.11 E
    Posts
    3,796

    Re: .PY works, .SIS doesn't

    Quote Originally Posted by RadioRaider View Post
    Thanks croozeus, but I'm not sure if that will really help, as it doesn't seem to be a "bug" in the normal sense. If my program fails to retraive GSM network info, or GPS, it won't make it all the way to the end anyway, in PY or SIS form. I even get the "data sent" confirmation from the SIS, which means the phone contacted my webserver. The problem is that either it's sending empty data, or wrong data, or..? I will also investigate on the server side, but I'm baffeled why the PY script works, but the SIS doesn't?? If the SIS is given correct CAPS and signed via "Open Signed On-Line", then really, how is the SIS different from the original PY??
    Can't say much without seeing the code or infact actually testing it!

    You did include NetworkServices capability, right? Anyway, could you still try if the exception harness method throws any statements.
    Pankaj Nathani
    www.croozeus.com

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    12

    Re: .PY works, .SIS doesn't

    I found the problem:

    pw = md5.new("something")

    params = urllib.urlencode({'pw_': pw,etc...

    the code above works fine in the Python Script shell, but not in the SIS file. Strange. So there is a difference between the script-shell and the SIS file...

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sertaozinho/Brazil
    Posts
    768

    Re: .PY works, .SIS doesn't

    Too late but ... I had problems many times where sis didn't work and scripts worked and I want to register my strategy in such situation:
    Code:
    try:
        # your original code here
    except Exception, e:
        from appuifw import note
        note(unicode(e))
    Just take note of exception and fix it.

Similar Threads

  1. Works as .py, but not as .SIS
    By icinnamon in forum Symbian
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-10-29, 18:44
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2010-08-19, 15:45
  3. Making .sis from .py
    By Faisal Rehman in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-07-03, 10:43
  4. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2008-04-14, 16:43
  5. Creating .sis file that installs multiple exe's?
    By kelvinlim in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2007-02-08, 04:59

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×