Discussion Board

Advice on the platform choice

Dear All,

I'm about to begin developing an application with the following characteristics:
    1. Should work on as many different devices as possible
    2. Silently (without user permission) send SMS to a server once a day
    3. If a device has built in GPS module, use it to report current location to the server
    4. The devices should run in the background, users should be able to use their phones (make calls, etc) normally.
    5. Developed in Linux

I have no experience with neither PyS60 nor JavaME programming, and I'm trying to figure out which one would be a better match for the above criteria. I did some reading (i.e. http://blogs.forum.nokia.com/blog/da...ich_technology), so let me share my thoughts and hopefully get some feedback from someone more experienced than I am:

1. JavaME apps can be run on a wider range of device, PyS60 apps can only be run on Nokia S60 phones and very few other models. If I were to deploy a PyS60 app I would have to distribute Python interpreter with it, as I cannot assume that all S60 phones have it. However, I the interpreter is different for different S60 editions.

2. & 3. In JavaME I would need to get a certificate and have my app signed (though Java Verified) in order to send messages without user prompt. The process is possibly costly (not a problem) and can take weeks (big problem, as the app should be deployed asap). I'm still not sure about this in PyS60. Can I send SMS-es and fetch GPS coordinates without going through symbian signed procedure? Could anyone provide more info?

4. I haven't find any articles that would confirm that this is possible in any of the platforms mentioned.