×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    106

    platform Request

    Hello

    Through my application I create a call using PlatformRequest (eg. platformRequest("tel:"+"*7"+dialedNumber)..it perfectly run on nokia series 40 mobile but not on nokia series 60..gives an error Internet:Invalid mobile number..Can u please tell me wats a problem with nokia S60 mobile phones..
    j2me

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    539

    Re: platform Request

    Hi Sonia,
    This by doing *7 are u trying to start a USSD session?
    au revoir
    Prakash Raman

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    106

    Re: platform Request

    Thanks
    No i m not using USSD session I only want to add '*' as a prefix with number..Is it possible?if yes then how?
    Last edited by sonia1986; 2009-08-10 at 08:41.
    j2me

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    106

    Re: platform Request

    Is series 60 doesn't support * as prefix..or it can be ppossible..
    j2me

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    7,395

    Re: platform Request

    Why do you want to prefix with a "*"??? Are you sure you don't want a "+"? ("+7" would be the prefix for a call to Russia, I believe.)

    Graham.

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    106

    Re: platform Request

    hello
    its kind of voice sms application in which i want when user create call using platform request then it will add * before number..
    Reply soon
    Thanks
    j2me

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    7,395

    Re: platform Request

    I'm not sure I understand. Are you saying that, on your mobile network, you can dial "*7phone-number send", and get access to some service?

    It sounds like S60 believes that a phone number must start with a digit or a "+", and that anything else is invalid.

    Graham.

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Noida, India
    Posts
    3,087

    Re: platform Request

    But on my N95 I can directly dial using phone dailer *7(10 digit cell no) without any problem

  9. #9
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    7,395

    Re: platform Request

    There may be some code in the implementation of platformRequest() that performs an (erroneous) check.

  10. #10
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    539

    Re: platform Request

    Hmmm i believe Sonia you trying to make some app on *+number logic of calling for sending voice SMS, i think thats is used by airtel in India. Well Sonia as that format is not a standered i dont think it would be implemented in platformRequest(). So you cant do that. :-(
    au revoir
    Prakash Raman

  11. #11
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    106

    Re: platform Request

    Thanks!So i cant do it in j2me..Is it possible in symbian C++?
    j2me

  12. #12
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Noida, U.P.
    Posts
    1,330

    Thumbs up Re: platform Request

    Quote Originally Posted by sonia1986 View Post
    Thanks!So i cant do it in j2me..Is it possible in symbian C++?
    sonia the work u r doing is quite interesting. can we discuss on this and on many other problems. can u tell me ur email-id
    thanks,
    jitu_goldie..

    KEEP TRYING..

  13. #13
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Noida, India
    Posts
    3,087

    Re: platform Request

    Yes, it looks possible in Symbian it gives better control on Telephone.

    thanks,
    ~Amitabh

  14. #14
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Mumbai
    Posts
    539

    Re: platform Request

    Well it can be done on symbia, cause i have seen some app on this. dont remember its name.
    au revoir
    Prakash Raman

  15. #15
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Noida, India
    Posts
    3,087

    Re: platform Request

    If your target is a S60 phones and you still want to do it with your Java program, you can develop a small Symbian server program that takes this request from your Java app and do it.


    thanks,
    ~Amitabh
    http://www.impetus.com/mlabs/applications.html

Similar Threads

  1. Use the xhtml browser as a default browser for platform request
    By juanma@elrincondeajax.com in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-11-12, 11:02
  2. tel: platform request
    By Paranoid_Android in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-04-16, 17:08
  3. Plat form request behaviour in S60 and S40 mobiles
    By bhanuchandar.k in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-04-02, 18:19
  4. Error with platform request
    By andybeeeeee in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-06-27, 09:16
  5. Getting started with Carbide.vs -- running the app
    By ET3D in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2005-11-23, 17:45

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×