Discussion Board

PC suite functionlity in Java Program

Hi,

My name is Jelle and I am a software developer student, for my thesis I have to design software that is able to detect Bluetooth devices (mobile phones actually) and be able to show new incoming text messages (sms). Of course that’s only the beginning of my thesis, but I have to start somewhere. I found all these things in the Nokia PC suit software and I was wondering how it works. Which codes are used to detect the Bluetooth devices, which are used to detect and incoming sms?

The application I’m making will be sold with a mobile phone and I was hoping I could be a Nokia, that’s why I turn to this forum for help! You can contact me here or on jelle.vanregenmortel@verhaert.com or on jelle.vanregenmortel@student.denayer.wenk.be , hopefuly someone can help me!

Thanks in advance,

Jelle

Nokia Developer Expert

Re: PC suite functionlity in Java Program

Hello and wish you good luck in your project.
    Let me just tell you that you won't be able to do what you plan using java technology.

For such a task you will have to rely either in symbian or any other native technology or you can even use AT commands. Reason: it's not possible to retrieve normal incoming messages using J2ME due to the sandbox model it works with.
    :Ruben

Quote Originally Posted by rdrincon View Post
    Hello and wish you good luck in your project.
    Let me just tell you that you won't be able to do what you plan using java technology.

For such a task you will have to rely either in symbian or any other native technology or you can even use AT commands. Reason: it's not possible to retrieve normal incoming messages using J2ME due to the sandbox model it works with.
    Hi Ruben,