×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    34

    Problem with masking

    Hi,

    There's not yet much activity, but I hope someone reads this forum

    I tried to create a masked widget on Maemo 5, Qt 4, just like the shapedclock demo in Qt demos. On S60 it looks ok (not perfect , but it is masked and the problems in there are different) and also on Linux. But on Maemo it takes the whole screen and masking makes the corners black. The same effect can be seen with shapedclock.

    Does anyone know what is the problem and any hints how it could be avoided?

    -J

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    bhavnagar
    Posts
    255

    Re: Problem with masking

    Quote Originally Posted by JANETTA View Post
    Hi,

    There's not yet much activity, but I hope someone reads this forum

    I tried to create a masked widget on Maemo 5, Qt 4, just like the shapedclock demo in Qt demos. On S60 it looks ok (not perfect , but it is masked and the problems in there are different) and also on Linux. But on Maemo it takes the whole screen and masking makes the corners black. The same effect can be seen with shapedclock.

    Does anyone know what is the problem and any hints how it could be avoided?

    -J
    may this link helpful for you.

    http://labs.trolltech.com/blogs/2008...idgets-on-x11/
    nayan trivedi.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    34

    Re: Problem with masking

    Thanks, I'll look into that.

    -J

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    430

    Re: Problem with masking

    I guess the problem is that the maemo-windowsmanager makes some assumptions for optimizations. That is that the application runs in fullscreen and covers all pixels and that there is nothing sensible to be able to shine through.

    Even if you get it somehow to work, it will not fit very well into a maemo environment.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    34

    Re: Problem with masking

    Axeljaeger, what do you mean by the last sentence, that it wouldn't fit well into Maemo environment even if I got it working? Do you mean application type or what?

    -J

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    430

    Re: Problem with masking

    At least on maemo4, an application fills the whole screen. If you mask something out, what shall be shown in the masked out pixels? The background image? There is no concept of window stacking to see other windows "beneath"

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    34

    Re: Problem with masking

    Ok, now I understand. So I guess that, for example the kind of application that was in the link posted by nayan_trivedi would be impossible on maemo. It's a pity...

    -J

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    430

    Re: Problem with masking

    I think it might be possible but you are not a good maemo citizen then. It's like you create an application with macos window decoration for vista. You can do it, you might like it, but you don't fit into the plattform.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    34

    Re: Problem with masking

    Ok I think I need to learn more about the philosophy of maemo to become a better citizen and to get those silly ideas out of my head

    -J

  10. #10
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    4,326

    Re: Problem with masking

    Kimmo has answered this question:
    http://lists.maemo.org/pipermail/mae...er/021934.html
    Also you can create window, which doesn't take whole screen area using window of the type: Qt::WType_Popup.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    34

    Re: Problem with masking

    Thanks for the hint.

    I can't try it right now, because I don't have working Maemo environment at the moment, but I'll look into it when I can.


    -J

Similar Threads

  1. STLPort namespace issue
    By yickhong in forum Open C/C++
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-04-09, 08:54
  2. SyncML link problem
    By samuel_ in forum Symbian C++
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-03-27, 08:02
  3. Problem with eglSwapBuffers and heap corruption
    By greatape in forum Symbian Media (Closed)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-05-24, 03:35
  4. netcards - Problem with opening adapter
    By kernj in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-01-10, 08:56
  5. Problem: S60 SDK for CW in PC with .NET
    By anttij in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-02-28, 11:36

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •