Discussion Board

Exclamation Adding include paths to QT Creator project

I'm using QT Creator, and I admit that I've never used an IDE for programming before. I'm using OpenCV libraries, and have them installed in C:\Program Files\OpenCV1.2\include\opencv

I started with a simple command line project, and tried to include highgui.h (which lives in the OpenCV directory mentioned above). If I include the whole filename, like #include "C:\...\highgui.h", I assume that it fails to then find other files highgui.h itself includes.

I then added INCLUDEPATH += C:\Program Files\OpenCV1.2\include\opencv to the project file. Didn't help. Building still gives "highgui: no such file or directory".

I added C:\Program Files\OpenCV1.2\include\opencv to the system path, and verified that it shows up in the environment variables of QT Creator's build configuration. I also opened a command line, and verified it was in the path. Still get the "highgui: no such file or directory" error.

I tried including it with several different syntax, which I admit I don't fully understand the difference between, such as #include <highgui>, #include "highgui.h", etc.

Can someone help me understand how to get QT Creator to see these third party library paths?

Re: Adding include paths to QT Creator project

Ok, so I found part of the problem. It couldn't handle the space between Program and Files. It was passing into the compiler something like... -I "C:\Program" "Files\...

No I think it is successfully including the .h file now, because I'm no longer getting that error.

However, I'm still getting "undefined reference to" function names that are in the .h.

Compiler output (I'm probably just too inexperienced to know that I'm doing something wrong):

Running build steps for project Example1...
    Starting: C:/Qt/2009.03/mingw/bin/mingw32-make.exe clean -w
    mingw32-make: Entering directory `C:/Users/kimble/Documents/FolderShare/QT Projects/Example1'