Discussion Board

Thread: OCR ON J2ME

Smile OCR ON J2ME

hello..

can you help me with my project?

im a graduating student my seniors project is about OCR on mobile using java.can you give me details and information where and what i will need inorder to do this project.

hoping for your reply.

thanks

divine87

Re: OCR ON J2ME

im exactly in the same situation
    its my bachelor project subject. i'll become realy happy if we could communicate with each other. i found some codes. its my yahoomail: sara.mansouri@yahoo.com

is there anybody help us?

hello iroosnamaras.

what is your update on your project?

Quote Originally Posted by iroosnamaras View Post
    im exactly in the same situation
    its my bachelor project subject. i'll become realy happy if we could communicate with each other. i found some codes. its my yahoomail: sara.mansouri@yahoo.com

is there anybody help us?
    Dear Sara,

currently i stuck with an ocr application that recognize arabic letters and numbers. so if you've reached anything kindly share it as i have no idea about it...

Thanks in advance.

Ahmed Abdelghany
    ahmed.m.abdelghany@hotmail.com

You need to split the task into bits:

1: Find the API that enables you to sample images from the camera (or more simply load them from the memory card after uploading them to the phone via USB from your computer)

2: A small simple interface to allow a user to pick the image/s they want to scan, a report page after the scan showing incorrectly spelt words, number of words on the page - and so on, and a bit of the interface to ask what folder the text file should be saved in.
    -I've got a small (ish) text file of English words - the simplest spell checker will just do a string find in this list for the next word the OCR found - it wont suggest anything if it doesn't find it, only flag it in a list of unrecognised words perhaps?)

3: The OCR system...

I think you'll find find many Java implementations of these on the internet.