×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2

    Question [moved] Does nokia 5730 actually have a magnetometer sensor?

    As per forum.nokia.com device page, 5730 xpressmusic has a magnetometer......
    But I could not find any clarification regarding this elsewhere, that's why I'm asking here.
    Has anyone verified this if it is true?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    8,347

    Re: Does nokia 5730 actually have a magnetometer sensor?

    Quote Originally Posted by me_max2k1 View Post
    As per forum.nokia.com device page, 5730 xpressmusic has a magnetometer......
    But I could not find any clarification regarding this elsewhere, that's why I'm asking here.
    Has anyone verified this if it is true?

    Thanks
    Ask such end user product questions here http://www.nokia.com/discussions/

    Forum Nokia is only for developer support. You are more than welcome to ask any development related questions here.
    Nokia Developer Wiki Moderation team

  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,737

    Re: Does nokia 5730 actually have a magnetometer sensor?

    Actually Me_max2k1 is right about asking why this site (FN) writes that the 5730 has such sensor.
    On the other hand it is also true that you have higher chances for finding people really having such device on the end-user discussion boards.
    This question might have a better place on some feedback board, like http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...play.php?f=166

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,359

    Re: Does nokia 5730 actually have a magnetometer sensor?

    Seems to be an error in the technical specifications as the magnetometer is indeed listed as a [hardware] feature. The sensor channels list however does not include it and that's the list I trust. So, as far as I am concerned, the answer is: no magnetometer is available. We'll have this verified and corrected.
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Helsinki
    Posts
    413

    Re: [moved] Does nokia 5730 actually have a magnetometer sensor?

    Yep, seems like there's an error in the specifications (which will be fixed asap). The correct sensor API channels for 5730XM are:

    Orientation
    Rotation
    Accelerometer XYZ
    Accelerometer double tapping
    Magnetometer XYZ
    Magnetic north

    so yes, the device does have magnetometer.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    2

    Thumbs up Re: Does nokia 5730 actually have a magnetometer sensor?

    I just got the phone and I can say for sure that it does have a magnetometer. I've testeed it on maps application , Around , N97 Compass application etc...
    Thanks for all the help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×