Discussion Board

Unhappy is it possible to play external audio/image file?

Hi,

I have to develop an application in j2me where i have to show a desired image from around 1000 images
    and also play one of sound file from amongst 1000 sound files. I am new to j2me.

-some device specifications says that maximum jar file size if 512 kb and my data size of these 1000 images + 1000 sounds
    as a resource in a single jar file will increase jar file size so i doubt it will not support.

-is it possible to access external image/audio file outside jar file? this way my jar file size will decrease to only program code.

Please help me. what is the way to achieve this?
    -Thanking you.
    B M

Super Contributor

Re: is it possible to play external audio/image file?

1000? That's a lot of images.

What devices are you targeting? Some devices have a JAR limit much lower than 512k. Some have a limit much higher.

Accessing an external file is possible, but not without complication. One complication is: how will you install 2000 other files?

You can access files from a web server, using HTTP.

What is the total size of the image and audio files?

Graham.

hi,

we need to first chk whether device can save these many files or not.

Alternatively u can develop some portal or within application u can display only descriptive text of image or soundfile and fetch selected file from server as suggested by Graham.

Regards,
    sudhakar
    Regards,
    Sudhakar

Hi,

Graham & sudhakar thanks for your valuable reply.
    Well, it is not possible to get data from server.

User will manually copy images and sound files to memory card so installing those files is not a problem.
    As graham mentioned some devices have jar limit to 512 k.
    So, i want to know that should i have to merge/include
    all image & sound files in to jar itself or is it possible to access files from memory card.