Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Regular Contributor

Problem with RecvOneOrMore in recieving server response

Hi All,
    I'm Very New to Symbian Development.I'm trying to implement Chat Application with Socket Programming.Actually Im able to coonect to my server and on successfull connection im trying to send the Login details to my server.Login Details are successfully reaching to server but here im using 'RecvOneOrMore' method to recieve the server response.But this method is recieving full amount of data when i use 'User::WaitForRequest(iStatus)' statement after that.But it's hanging for the next server responses.If i remove that 'RecvOneOrMore' is not recieving any data.

I got struck here,please help me in solving this.

My Sample code to recieve the server response is:

Code:
    TBuf8<1000> iBuffer;
    void CMySocketConnection::RequestData()
        {
        if ( iActiveSocket )
            {
            iActiveSocket->RecvOneOrMore( iBuffer, 0, iStatus, iLen );

User::WaitForRequest(iStatus);    --> If i comment this, No data is recieved in iBuffer

}
        SetActive();
        }
    Thanks in Advance.

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: Problem with RecvOneOrMore in recieving server response

just remove the User::WaitForRequest(iStatus); , and move the SetActive(); in its place, also RSockets should not be used as pointers, so do check the right usage for R-Classes. Then see what happens in your RunL when it gets called.

Regular Contributor

Hi symbianyucca,
    Thank you very much for your reply.I did the both changes what u mentioned.Then also i'm not able to recieve the server response.

Below is modified code snippet:
    Code:
    TBuf8<1000> iBuffer;
        {
        if ( iActiveSocket )
            {
            iActiveSocket.RecvOneOrMore( iBuffer, 0, iStatus, iLen );

SetActive();// User::WaitForRequest(iStatus);

iTransactionObserver->SuccessL(0,&iBuffer,KErrNone);   //where iTransactionObserver is a Observer class
            }