Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Google Analytics for Mobile and WRT

Google have just released Analytics for Mobile

It is currently only available for phones that handle javascript - like iPhone and Android. Google have only released it for these SDKs so far.

Not being a WRT developer, I have a number of questions:

- Given that one of WRT's components is javascript, would it not be possible for it also to run on the Nokia WRT-devices?
    - If so, has anybody tried to get it to work, even hacking around without the approved SDK?

- If not, and given that WRT is html, CSS and javascript compliant, would vanilla Google Analytics work?
    - Has anybody tried this and are there any issues to watch out for?

I would really like to get some app feedback via an analytics tool before I deploy my first app.

Many thanks

Re: Google Analytics for Mobile and WRT

I have had limited success with other regular Google products and WRT.

- Google Ads for high-end devices did not work ;-(
    - Google Ads for Maps as points on the map worked fine ;-)
    - Google Ads for Maps as an "Adunit" overlay displayed the ovelay but not render any ads ;-|

Any guidance or help you can share would be greatly appreciated.

Regular Contributor

I guess it all depends upon what you are trying to do with analytics. if your goal is to track usage across HTML pages in the WRT app then you wont be able to do this very well with WRT.

Unlike a web site, A WRT application is not a collection of distinct HTML pages. There is only one HTML page that acts like a canvas for dynamically building screens using javascript manipulation of DOM. If you navigate to a different HTML page then the WRT environment disables most of the WRT api. Since the typical way of implementing analytics is to include code on each page, this obviously wont work in the WRT context.