×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4

    How to get home city in J2ME?

    Hi!

    Is it possible to get the selected "home city" somehow from Java system (e.g. through system property)?
    With term "home city" I mean the city that the phone user selects when the device is started for the first time after reset.
    I'm using S60 Nokia device. By the way, is home cities used at all in S40 devices?

    Thanks,
    - MK

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    62

    Re: How to get home city in J2ME?

    Hi,

    Can you tell me how can you get the home city in Nokia series 40 devices using System.getProperty().

    Thanks
    Avdhesh

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,708

    Re: How to get home city in J2ME?

    he is actually asking if its possible at all
    btw I wouldn't know so I'm not responding to that :P Didn't even ever notice a "home city" before... Unless its the time zone we are talking about...

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    62

    Re: How to get home city in J2ME?

    Hi,

    When read the thread i think it might get the Home city in Nokia 40 devices, and he is asking how he get for nokia 60 devices, it's completely new think to me.

    By the way, is home cities used at all in S40 devices?
    Can you tell me some think more about this above line. What it means.

    Thanks
    Avdhesh

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,708

    Re: How to get home city in J2ME?

    he is actually asking for both platforms as far as I understand the question correctly...

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: How to get home city in J2ME?

    Unless its the time zone we are talking about...
    Yes, sorry my question was a bit misleading. I'm trying to get the city of the selected time-zone.

    The phone user specifies the used time-zone by selecting his/her country and city from a list.
    At least in Symbian side it is possible to get the name of the city that is selected.

    It seems that TimeZone.getID() returns only "GMT" plus offset in S60 (my S60 is quite old, E51).
    I don't have other ideas how to get the city name since did not find any suitable system property neither.

    I also assume that it is not possible to get the city from S40 since the user can only specify the offset of the time-zone and not the actual city.

    Well, this is not a mandatory feature for me, just wondering whether it is possible or not.

    - MK

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,708

    Re: How to get home city in J2ME?

    hhmmm... ok...
    as far as I can remember I also set my timezone, but in my case (being in europe) for example my timezone got Amsterdam, Rome, Paris etc... So i'm afraid that a timezone is not city-coupled but area-coupled
    You could have a look at the Date object and see if you can get extra info from that...

Similar Threads

  1. J2ME or C++ for VoIP on Mobile
    By sandeepkumar03 in forum VoIP
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-02-02, 10:28
  2. J2ME or C++ for VoIP on Mobile Phone
    By sandeepkumar03 in forum Mobile Java Media (Graphics & Sounds)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-11-13, 20:14
  3. Acessing voice channel using J2ME
    By diegomello in forum VoIP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-10-21, 15:57
  4. Can J2ME be used for sending MMS Message ?
    By seno_ap in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-11-24, 14:36
  5. need urgent guidance on j2me
    By cogni_niru in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-11-13, 15:02

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×