Discussion Board

HTTP client example

Dear All,

I am very new to Symbian OS programming. I need to post a URL to the Apache web server from the Symbian OS mobile and to receive the response. I started working with Carbide C++ v2.0, Symbian S60 2nd edition FP2 with java installed 1.6.0_17.

I started with Httpclientexample, but when I try to connect with the server using emulator(POST) I get errors. I get -1, sometimes -15 and sometimes -7361. Irrespective of errors I can confirm that my emulator is not sending any request to the server. I can see that there is no packets transmitted from the httpclientexample when I cross check with NpacketAdmin. When I connect with the Browser in emulator I can connect to the Internet and browse websites.

I am really confused with this issue. Can anyone please help me. May be this post looks like silly but I need your guidance to start programming with Symbian OS. Please help me.

Regards,
    gaja

Nokia Developer Champion

Re: HTTP client example

Quote Originally Posted by sgajendran1 View Post
    Dear All,

I am very new to Symbian OS programming. I need to post a URL to the Apache web server from the Symbian OS mobile and to receive the response. I started working with Carbide C++ v2.0, Symbian S60 2nd edition FP2 with java installed 1.6.0_17.

I started with Httpclientexample, but when I try to connect with the server using emulator(POST) I get errors. I get -1, sometimes -15 and sometimes -7361. Irrespective of errors I can confirm that my emulator is not sending any request to the server. I can see that there is no packets transmitted from the httpclientexample when I cross check with NpacketAdmin. When I connect with the Browser in emulator I can connect to the Internet and browse websites.

I am really confused with this issue. Can anyone please help me. May be this post looks like silly but I need your guidance to start programming with Symbian OS. Please help me.

Regards,
    gaja
    hello gaja