×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kista, Sweden
    Posts
    267

    How to get an InfoMsg to display several row of text?

    I have got an InfoMsg to work,but it only displays one row of text. If I write a long text in the InfoMsg, it still get displayed in only one row. Is it possible to display several rows of text with an InfoMsg? In that case,how can that be implemented? Or should I use InfoDialog instead for this? This is the code:

    iEikEnv = CEikonEnv::Static ();
    iEikEnv->InfoMsg(_L( "testtesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttesttest" ));

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,166

    Re: How to get an InfoMsg to display several row of text?

    I suppose the InfoMsg() is for one line only, so better user the dialog..

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    399

    Re: How to get an InfoMsg to display several row of text?

    If this help you

    void InfoWinL(const TDesC &aFirstLine, const TDesC &aSecondLine);

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,481

    Re: How to get an InfoMsg to display several row of text?

    Try something this :

    TBuf<50> First;
    TBuf<50> Second;
    First.Copy(_L("First Line"));
    Second.Copy(_L("Second line"));
    static_cast<CEikonEnv*> (iCoeEnv)->InfoWinL (First, Second);

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kista, Sweden
    Posts
    267

    Re: How to get an InfoMsg to display several row of text?

    I could write several rows of text with InfoWinL,but I want it to cover the whole screen, so I can write text on all the rows. InfoWinL gets displayed in the middle of the screen, so I don't have room for all the text that I need.

    I am using this infomessage in a 3d game. InfoMsg worked with the 3d graphics,but InfoWinL didn't. It made the application freeze. I tried to use InfoDialog,but I got a KERN EXEC 3 (common panic in
    Symbian, happens mostly because of invalid handle) on RunDlgLD. You can see the code and debug info below.
    I think that the reason for the KERN EXEC 3 is the first argument to RunDlgLD. According to the documentation, it should be
    "ID of the DIALOG resource that identifies the dialog's type". But there is no information on which ID to use,so I just gave it 0. Do you know which dialog ID to use and how I can avoid the KERN EXEC 3?


    MEikInfoDialog * dialog=iEikEnv->InfoDialog();
    iEikEnv->SetInfoDialog(dialog); //The ID of the DIALOG resource that identifies the dialog's type. For instance, a //query dialog (with Yes/No buttons) or an info dialog (with a Continue button).

    dialog->RunDlgLD(0,_L("test"),_L("test"));

    debug info:
    ---------------------------------------------------
    dialog 0x00000000

Similar Threads

  1. How to display text from file?
    By aashish_trust in forum Symbian
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-06-05, 10:39
  2. Display Text
    By Tobias_80 in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-07-08, 18:51
  3. Need help to Wrap and Display long text
    By dc-huang in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-08-30, 13:47
  4. List not display text in multiple lines
    By erracid8 in forum Mobile Java Media (Graphics & Sounds)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2004-08-09, 20:34
  5. List not display text in multiple lines
    By erracid8 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-07-21, 16:22

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×