Discussion Board

How image will display in different devices...

Hi,
    I'm a beginner in the field of mobile development. I've just completed a canvas example with image. While doing that, i came across a question that how the image will look on different screen size / resolution on different devices (Sony, Nokia etc.).

Let's say if i have loaded an image which is 240 x 320, what will happen if i see the same on a screen size of 128 x 160 or 360 x 640.

Pls. spare some time and reply to this post. Because of this my work has got stuck ...

Regards,
    Jatin

Super Contributor

Re: How image will display in different devices...

If, for example, the image is 200x200 pixels, then it will appear less than the screen size on a 240x320 screen. It will be greater than the screen size (so you will only see part of the image) on a 128x160 screen. It will occupy only a small part of a 360x640 screen.

Does that make sense?

Graham.

Hi Graham,

Thnx for the reply. Actually the problem is that i need to load an image onto a canvas and it should appear properly on different devices with different screen size. Lets say i am loading a background image and i want it to appear as per screen size no matter what the screen size is.

Could you pls. guide me how to achieve such result? Otherwise for each device, i will have to create separate .jar file to show the image size perfectly fitted in the screen.

Regards,
    Jatin

Super Contributor

Ultimately, you will need to match the sizes of images to the size of the screen.

Your options are:

1. Have different JARs for different image sizes. Obviously, you might need a lot of JARs! This is the popular approach for game developers.

2. Have all the different sizes of image in one JAR. Unless you only have a very small number of images, this is likely to result in a JAR that is too big - many devices have a limit to the size of JAR they can install.