Discussion Board

mobile java and connectivity

Hi all

I need your help concerning this architecture: i want to access to a bluetooth device (the phone) using java. i have read something about issuing AT commands bluetooth in this forum.
    I want to send files using http (or sockets) throw the device (the phone). is it possible ?

is it possible with AT commands ? please let me know if you have any idea or suggestion because i am really new to at commands and bluetooth

and thanks a lot in advance

Re: mobile java and connectivity

Can anyone guide me please with the question above. i am really a beginner to mobile devices and connectivity

Super Contributor

Do you mean that you want to use the phone to connect your desktop/laptop to the internet?

Graham.

Quote Originally Posted by grahamhughes View Post
    Do you mean that you want to use the phone to connect your desktop/laptop to the internet?

Graham.
    yes, exactly : i want to access internet using the phone. (if i can do that then i can run any application that need internet such as tcp sockets isn't it ?)

please grahamhughes, if you know what are the steps to do achieve this connexion through the phone in java or other language please let me know and thanks a lot

Super Contributor

You need to attach your phone to the computer as a modem. You don't need any programming to do this. You should consult your network operator for the correct configuration information to do this. Alternatively, try Nokia support.

Graham.

Quote Originally Posted by grahamhughes View Post
    You need to attach your phone to the computer as a modem. You don't need any programming to do this. You should consult your network operator for the correct configuration information to do this. Alternatively, try Nokia support.

Graham.
    yes thanks.