Discussion Board

Thread: j2me Menu

Question j2me Menu

Hey guys

I am new to j2me. Have only been using it for 2 days now. Im busy building a app for practice. Usually googling helped me with all my problems. But not now. I have tried googling/binging/yahooing, everything. lol. So was hoping you guys can help me out.

I need to make a simple menu of images and not text. I tried using a List and all other things, but they do not cater for my needs. From googling I found that I need to build a custom wiget for that. This is where I need help.

At the moment I have a class called NavList which extends CustomItem. This has an append method that allows me to add images to. Images get added to a Vector. Then the paint method uses g.drawImage to display the images from the Vector. That all is perfect and working. I then append this custom item to my form and it works perfectly. My only problem is I have no idea how to handle the click event when you click on the buttons, I tried adding commands SCREEN,LIST, etc But nothing seems to work and I can find no answers.

So, please help me get this working. Is my list the best way of doing it? Or would it be better to extend List or Canvas instead of customItem?

Thanks for any feedback guys. I really appreciate it.

Regular Contributor

Re: j2me Menu

Quote Originally Posted by NightStalkerDNS View Post
    Hey guys

I am new to j2me. Have only been using it for 2 days now. Im busy building a app for practice. Usually googling helped me with all my problems. But not now. I have tried googling/binging/yahooing, everything. lol. So was hoping you guys can help me out.

I need to make a simple menu of images and not text. I tried using a List and all other things, but they do not cater for my needs. From googling I found that I need to build a custom wiget for that. This is where I need help.