Discussion Board

Red face Help getting GPS/Phone info!

Hi! I was reading some of your posts on the nokia forum. I'm really new to j2me development, and I'm currently developing a GPS app for work that pinpoints nearby locations of interest.

Currently, we need a lot of info from the phone that is not so easy to get using j2me, including lac, mcc, mnc, rssi, imei or some unique phone id, etc..

We also need gps information, such as latitude, longitude, etc.

With all this info, our api can get nearby location by either gps or radiobase info.

We're currently using the location api (getLocation(int), and such) for GPS data, and System.getProperty for phone information.

I would like to know if there's a way to obtain such info from other sources, like a location or phone info listener of sorts, or by parsing a special string that is always available, since we need to deploy this app for several phone brands and models and it would be a pain to develop 20 different versions focusing on each phone's specs.

Thanks a lot for your help in advance!

Re: Help getting GPS/Phone info!

Dear kuroizero ,
    As per your requirment you should not choose J2me.Because you won't get more network information as you mentioned.Try to use WRT Widgets.

Nokia Developer Champion

You can get some type of cell info - location information from incoming CBS messages that operators send to the mobile device using WMA API in J2me.

thanks,
    ~Amitabh

Regular Contributor

Hi,

As you have mentioned that you will launching it for several phones. If the phones you are targetting are Nokia handsets then you will not get Network Information from S40 devices. You will need manufacturer or operator level signing which is not easily obtainable. If your target devices are S60 devices then the best option is Symbian C++, with that you will all the network information and GPS info too.