×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    51

    Question How to change Select-Cancel cba text at runtime?

    Hi,

    I am creating an application which is having multilanguages support. Using my application user can change language at runtime. I am able to change the text on Options-Exit Cba properly, but how do I change the text of Select-Cancel Cba that appears on Options click ?
    Select-Cancel text is displayed in phone language that is set (English in my case). Please tell me if there is a solution for this problem.
    I would also like to know if this can give me problem if I want to get my application Symbian signed ?

    Thanks in advance,
    Amar.

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: How to change Select-Cancel cba text at runtime?

    you might want to refer to this http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...ng_them_in_S60 have not tried if it will help in case you only change that language of your application alone.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    1,998

    Re: How to change Select-Cancel cba text at runtime?

    Quote Originally Posted by amar_wagholikar View Post
    Hi,

    I am creating an application which is having multilanguages support. Using my application user can change language at runtime. I am able to change the text on Options-Exit Cba properly, but how do I change the text of Select-Cancel Cba that appears on Options click ?
    Select-Cancel text is displayed in phone language that is set (English in my case). Please tell me if there is a solution for this problem.
    I would also like to know if this can give me problem if I want to get my application Symbian signed ?

    Thanks in advance,
    Amar.
    Not sure if you can override that one unless you change the phones language.

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    51

    Re: How to change Select-Cancel cba text at runtime?

    Hi skumar_rao,
    Thanks ..... but my question is something else. I want to know whether I can get access to the Select-Cancel Cba which appears when Options is clicked, so that I can change their text\ use my own Select-Cancel Cba.

    Amar.

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: How to change Select-Cancel cba text at runtime?

    you might want to use this CEikButtonGroupContainer* cba = CEikonEnv::Static()->AppUiFactory()->Cba()

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    22

    Re: How to change Select-Cancel cba text at runtime?

    Amar,
    I have exactly the same question as you regarding Select/Cancel.
    Did you find a solution?
    Regards,
    Paul

  7. #7
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,165

    Re: How to change Select-Cancel cba text at runtime?

    Basically the Options menu is handled by the Application framework, so it will use the system resource's for the buttons. And thus it is using the language strings of the current device language. If you want to use something else, you could try using pop-up dialogs instead of actual options-menu.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    22

    Re: How to change Select-Cancel cba text at runtime?

    Thanks Jukka.
    Does seem strange that you can modify all other labels, but those.
    Will be a pain to have to develop custom control just for this purpose.
    I will do some more digging around but losing hope rapidly!

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,165

    Re: How to change Select-Cancel cba text at runtime?

    it is not strange at all, if you use some applciation framework parts that handle the CBA's themselves, you can expect them to be handled that way. Anyway, did you read my post, there was a suggestion that would give you control as well as more-or-less same user experience..

Similar Threads

  1. Change Carbide-Generated Navi Pane Text at runtime
    By tamhanna in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-02-22, 01:25
  2. Urgent! How to change text input language on runtime for EDWIN?
    By whitewinds in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-05-24, 10:37
  3. select cancel cba button
    By bsteeb@gmx.de in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-01-12, 12:21
  4. How to change cba buttons dynamically
    By Nokia_Archive in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2004-03-02, 09:27
  5. Can't we change the text of EAknCmdExit menu item ?
    By ashbhatia in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2002-10-11, 14:16

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×