Discussion Board

How to get location based services without gps?

Hey guys, I am a final year engg student and I and 3 of my friends want to develop an application using J2ME as our final year project that helps me to get my location and using that I need to find the names of my contacts whose address is already saved in a database. I dont want to use gps. I've seen lot of information about the cellid retrieval and using that and the Open CellID site to get my location. But this i.e., the OpenCellID is not useful in India as there are no registered cell towers in India in the site.
    So is there any way like maybe triangulation using which I can get my location? and also is this possible in the lower end phones without gps support if not which phones would support this application? I would be much obliged for any info that you can provide. Thanks

Super Contributor

Re: How to get location based services without gps?

There are lots of discussions on this topic, so use the forum search.

Your main problem is: most phones will not tell a Java application information like the cell ID.

As you say, even if you had that information, you need a database to map the cell ID into latitude and longitude.

Triangulation is possible when the phone is in range of several different towers, but it's really only possible for the network to do this, not the device (you need incredibly accurate timing to measure the differences in propagation delay).

In short, they put GPS hardware in phones because figuring out your location without it is really, really difficult.

Graham.

Thanks for the quick response. So is this project possible in a non-gps enabled phone or will I have to get a new expensive phone? I have checked the different discussions in the forum but I could find if the project is possible or not.

I've been thinking and I just had another idea. Is there any way to access the data that stores which area's cell tower I am getting the signal from?