×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    13

    QSystemNetworkInfo hangs application

    Hello, after hard work I managed to use QTMobility libraries with Symbian OS. Because I don't have developer certificate i was able to run quickstart example. When I edited this "quickstart" example by adding one additional line QSystemNetworkInfo, after compilation my application hangs on my Nokia 5800 phone.
    here is the code

    #include <QApplication>
    #include <QLabel>

    #ifdef Q_OS_SYMBIAN
    #include <qsysteminfo.h>
    #else
    #include <QSystemInfo> //(1)
    #endif
    using namespace QtMobility; //(2)

    int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    {
    QApplication app(argc, argv);
    QSystemDeviceInfo s;
    QSystemNetworkInfo idz; // <----- I ADDED THIS LINE
    QLabel *label = new QLabel(QObject::tr("hello ").append(s.model()));
    label->show();
    label->resize(100,130);
    return app.exec();
    }
    //! [0]
    Without this line:
    QSystemNetworkInfo idz;
    application works. I don't create .sis packages, i launch my application using creator and my nokia 5800, like showed in video tutorials.

    Maybe i need additional certificate to use QSystemNetworkInfo ? Right now by using QTMobility library I hope to get GPS Coordinates and cellid.

    I use:
    Nokia 5800XM
    windows 7
    QT creator 1.3.0
    S60_5th_Edition_SDK_v1_0_en
    s60_open_c_cpp_plug_in_v1_6_en
    strawberry-perl-5.10.1.0 <----- is this good ?
    ActivePerl-5.6.1.635-MSWin32-x86
    qt-symbian-opensource-4.6.0
    Carbide.c++_v2.0

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    18

    Re: QSystemNetworkInfo hangs application

    QtSystemInfo API & QSystemNetworkInfo requires certificates and needs certain capabilities permissions in order to access sensitive information, and I believe you are running into this.

    For more information about capabilities:
    http://carbidehelp.nokia.com/help/in...9B657D59E.html

    Also see:

    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...ility_examples

    As I have just lowered the capability requirements of QtSystemInfo in the git repo, you can try downloading that. You will still need certificates though and sign the package.
    It will take a day or so for it to trickle outside.

    http://qt.gitorious.org/qt-mobility/qt-mobility
    Code Monkey, QtMobility, Nokia

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    13

    Re: QSystemNetworkInfo hangs application

    Thanks for reply; unfortunately this is bad news for me…

    I registered to the web page https://www.symbiansigned.com/app/page , and using Open Signed Online I send my request to sign my application. Right now I’m waiting for confirmation. Is this the only FREE option to use? Then I’m learning, I build my applications after small changes all the time, because I want to see how it works, so right now in order to test them I will have to send my application to symbiansigned page each time and wait for confirmation? Well this is nonsense for me. So are there any other FREE options? I don’t have 200$ for publisher ID.

    If I jailbreak my phone, this will help me? I don’t care if this affects my warranty, because I brought used phone from different country. I just want to use my Nokia 5800 to test Qt and to learn something new.

    Also, can somebody else try my code to see if it works on other devices? maybe there is something wrong with my phone or I did mistake in codding?

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    13

    Re: QSystemNetworkInfo hangs application

    Can somebody plz tell me what i'm doing wrong.

    When i create sis package i sent it to www.symbiansigned.com by using Open Signed Online option to sign my application. Is this enough to sign my aplication and use features of QTMobility like getting GPS coordinates and cellid, or this is only possible by using publisherID setificate ?

    I still can't find solution how to run my very simple application, i even tried to use python to get the same results, but i have also failed.

    can somebody test this code, and tell me does this work on your nokia 5800 XM?
    Pro file:
    TEMPLATE = app
    TARGET =
    DEPENDPATH += .
    INCLUDEPATH += .
    QT += network


    CONFIG += mobility
    MOBILITY += systeminfo


    # Input
    SOURCES += main.cpp
    main.cpp file

    #include <QApplication>
    #include <QLabel>

    #ifdef Q_OS_SYMBIAN
    #include <qsysteminfo.h>
    #else
    #include <QSystemInfo> //(1)
    #endif
    using namespace QtMobility; //(2)

    int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    {
    QApplication app(argc, argv);
    QSystemDeviceInfo s;
    QSystemNetworkInfo idz; // <----- I ADDED THIS LINE
    QLabel *label = new QLabel(QObject::tr("hello ").append(s.model()));
    label->show();
    label->resize(100,130);
    return app.exec();
    }

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Vienna
    Posts
    22

    Re: QSystemNetworkInfo hangs application

    I run into exactly the same problem! Have you found a solution so far?
    There's no other place than 127.0.0.1

Similar Threads

  1. J2ME connection issue!! Application hangs! Help needed!
    By nomanm in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2011-06-23, 14:17
  2. Launching a dialog when the application starts
    By Uriah Eisenstein in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2009-03-31, 09:06
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2009-01-20, 13:47
  4. RSocket Connectt() hangs application
    By prajapatmanoj in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-01-19, 15:25
  5. Application hangs randomly
    By lmtang in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2005-07-12, 02:59

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×