×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5

    Icon in App Manager?

    Hi everybody,

    I made a widget with customized icon, it works well on N95. The icon can be seen on "Menu -> Applications", our widget is list there.

    However, we found our icon disappeared in the App Manager("Menu -> Applications -> App. Manager"), there our widgets are only just list with a default icon, and there almost all the apps are list with the default icon also.

    Screenshot on the N95 emulator:


    on the real phone:



    Why is that? Can we specify our own icon in the App Manager?

    Thanks
    Last edited by zagorot; 2010-01-12 at 08:35.

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bhubaneswar, India
    Posts
    1,189

    Re: Icon in App Manager?

    you need to create application icon using following link.
    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...60_3rd_edition
    -------------------------------------
    Thanks & Regards
    Ram
    Symbian OS 9.2/9.3,S60 3rd FP1/FP2,Carbide.c++v2.0

  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,166

    Re: Icon in App Manager?

    Anyway, I have not seen any ways on having the actual application ison to show in applications managers installed applciation list, so I would suppose it is not really supported.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5

    Re: Icon in App Manager?

    Thanks you all.

    I think the app manager don't support the customized icon also. But the Vodafone tester sent those screen shots to us and said:

    ---
    Your widget could not be approved, because it does not work properly or does not fulfil the general acceptance criteria.
    Details are as follows:
    Your widget is failing due to the following reason:
    * Widget has a default icon, both in closed and in minimized mode.
    ---

    We have got this issue for a long time and don't know how to solve it. Is there any docs talked the closed mode or minimized mode?

    Any thoughts?


    Below is our info.plist file:
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Nokia//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.nokia.com/NOKIA_COM_1/DTDs/plist-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    	<key>DisplayName</key>
    	<string>IP Directory</string>
    	<key>Identifier</key>
    	<string>net.test.widget.ipd</string>
    	<key>MainHTML</key>
    	<string>index.html</string>
    	<key>Version</key>
    	<string>1.00</string>
    	<key>AllowNetworkAccess</key>
    	<true/>
        <key>MiniViewEnabled</key>
        <false/>
    </dict>
    </plist>
    Last edited by zagorot; 2010-01-12 at 09:44.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5

    Re: Icon in App Manager?

    I see. Vodafone has its own App Manager, and the vodafone widget is different with nokia widget.

    see here: http://jil.vodafone-developer.com/

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,166

    Re: Icon in App Manager?

    Vodaphone can also have its own variants of the firmware, so they can specify loads of things to be done differently.

Similar Threads

  1. Grid app is crashing... need urgent help...
    By shankha in forum Symbian
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-10-19, 12:07
  2. Express Signing for Non visible + hidden active GPRS icon App
    By strutv in forum Symbian Signed Support, Application Packaging and Distribution and Security
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2009-06-01, 10:13
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-02-22, 13:52
  4. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 2005-04-16, 10:15
  5. Icon causes system error on 3650 app
    By ickalminx in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-05-22, 17:56

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×