Discussion Board

Thread: Maps qt or java

Maps qt or java

I am new to Nokia development, but have developed for Blackberry and Windows mobile (using java/c# resp.). I would like to port one of my apps over to Nokia (likely the E72). Can someone advise what the appropriate development platform would be? Java, Qt, Native C++? Looking at the nokia website it seems to be placing a lot of emphasis on Qt, I don't want to go down the java route if its going to be phased out in favor of Qt????

The app I intend to port by the way would involve some tcp sockets and ideally the ability to show resources on a map. If anyone can advise if these are both going to be possible using whatever platform.

Thanks,

Slicc

Super Contributor

Re: Maps qt or java

There is no immediate sign of Nokia "phasing out" Java. With a whole new Java Runtime Environment for Series 60, it's an area in which Nokia are still investing.

For you, the key advantage of using Java will be that you already have Java code (from your BlackBerry version). If you used the MIDlet model on BlackBerry, then your existing application might work unmodified. If not, then you might still be able to re-use a lot of existing code. You might also be more familiar with Java than C++, and you are probably going to find the MIDP API more familiar than Qt or Symbian. Choosing Java could also give you an application that will work (with little or no modification) on non-Symbian, non-Nokia devices.

On the downside, MIDP Java is wrapped in a whole bunch of security restrictions, and you will find that every time you create a new network connection, a security prompt appears. Some things, such as access to parts of the device's file system, or reading messages from the SMS inbox, are made impossible by the security model and minimal API.