Discussion Board

Signed key signatures

Hi
    I am developing MIDlet application and i am going to deploy on device through IIS. Is there is anything needed to get signed key signatures like blackberry api's.

Or any other prodecure is there to deploy the application.

Thanks
    Mindus

Super Contributor

Re: Signed key signatures

You do not need to sign MIDP applications. If the application works on your phone now, it will work when you deploy it over-the-air (OTA). Be sure to test that everything works correctly.

Graham.

No need of any key....

You can directly install using PCsuite or Bluetooth push or from the memory.

Regards
    Vineeth

Hi Graham
    Thanks for your reply, I am new to j2me application. This is the first time i am going to deploy my application on device. I am trying with OTA way to deploy on Nokia 6212 device. i had developed some application on blackberry device. There some of the apis which need to signed to make application work on device. So like that anything we need to do for make application works on nokia mobile?

Can u please tell me what is Signing with VeriSign, Thawte, or JavaVerified?? what is the purpose of all these things

Thanks
    mindus

Super Contributor

Have you tried deploying your application by bluetooth or cable? If so, and it works, then all is well.

For MIDP Java, signing is very complicated. In general, signing is not needed. Because it is so complicated, it is best avoided.

There are three categories of MIDlet.