×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    WRT Visual Studio plugin on Team Suite

    Hi,

    I tried to search through the forum and the wiki, but no real reference found.

    My problem is that I tried to install the WRT Visual Studio plugin v2 on 2 different pcs with Visual Studio 2008 Team Suite SP1.

    On both pcs the WRT does not install, because it requires SP1 - which of course present.

    Somebody can confirm, that the WRT plugin does not work with VS2008 Team Suite or it is a local problem? I checked the install logs and it quits with error code 1603.


    thx for any info,
    Viktor

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5

    Re: WRT Visual Studio plugin on Team Suite

    You need Visual Studio SP1 http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

    This should do it.

    Matt

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    15

    Question Re: WRT Visual Studio plugin on Team Suite

    Hello

    I have an instance of Microsoft Visual Studio Team System 2008 Team Suite and I too have the same issue, I do have the SP1 which is VS90sp1-KB945140-ENU.exe installed.

    Help>About confirms it:

    Microsoft Visual Studio Team System 2008 Team Suite - ENU Service Pack 1 (KB945140) KB945140
    This service pack is for Microsoft Visual Studio Team System 2008 Team Suite - ENU.
    If you later install a more recent service pack, this service pack will be uninstalled automatically.
    For more information, visit http://support.microsoft.com/kb/945140.

    Microsoft Visual Studio Team System 2008 Team Suite - ENU Service Pack 1 (KB947888) KB947888
    This service pack is for Microsoft Visual Studio Team System 2008 Team Suite - ENU.
    If you later install a more recent service pack, this service pack will be uninstalled automatically.
    For more information, visit http://support.microsoft.com/kb/947888.

    However when I try to install the Nokia WRT Plug-in for Visual Studio, I am asked to install the SP1.

    Any help?

    Thanks
    Jay

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Re: WRT Visual Studio plugin on Team Suite

    ok, I found out myself. It is a bloody mistype from the side of Nokia.

    Here it is:

    1) get the Orca MSI editor from MS
    2) open the WRT plugin MSI with Orca
    3) get the table _VsdLaunchCondition
    4) here get the line, which has a lot of VS version check
    5) here change the VS2008TS_SP strings (2 times) to VSTS2008TS_SP
    6) save, close
    7) voila, works.
    (8) notify Nokia to make the fix official)

    Have fun!

    Viktor

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    15

    Smile Re: WRT Visual Studio plugin on Team Suite

    Viktor

    Great job, it works like a charm after fixing the MSI table.

    Thanks
    Cheers
    Jay

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    3

    Re: WRT Visual Studio plugin on Team Suite

    I have the exact same problem but with VS2008Pro: SP1 is installed - about five times now and VS2008Pro says that it's SP1, but nevertheless the plugin installer asks for the SP1.

    regards and thx for any help,
    AMi

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    15

    Re: WRT Visual Studio plugin on Team Suite

    Ami

    Google for Orca MSI editor from Microsoft and follow Viktor's steps. It worked like charm for me.

    HTH
    Jay

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    3

    Re: WRT Visual Studio plugin on Team Suite

    The point is if I assume that "TS" stands for "Team Suite" then the proposed changes will not work for me using Professional.
    Any ideas?

    P.S.: I downloaded Orca and that's why I know that there are a lot more VS version strings ...

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    9

    Re: WRT Visual Studio plugin on Team Suite

    First of all, sorry for my English.

    I found an other solution.
    The plug-in check your Service Pack version of Visual Studio 2008 here : HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\DevDiv\VS\Servicing\9.0\STD\1033

    run regedit.
    go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\DevDiv\VS\Servicing\9.0

    and now, rename the PRO key (or TS key) to STD
    and the 1036 (or similar) key to 1033 key

    So, you can try to install plug-in.

    After that, restore the original name of key.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    3

    Re: WRT Visual Studio plugin on Team Suite

    THX! will try that.

    Regards,
    AMi

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    4

    Re: WRT Visual Studio plugin on Team Suite

    Quote Originally Posted by bewotec View Post
    ok, I found out myself. It is a bloody mistype from the side of Nokia.

    Here it is:

    1) get the Orca MSI editor from MS
    2) open the WRT plugin MSI with Orca
    3) get the table _VsdLaunchCondition
    4) here get the line, which has a lot of VS version check
    5) here change the VS2008TS_SP strings (2 times) to VSTS2008TS_SP
    6) save, close
    7) voila, works.
    (8) notify Nokia to make the fix official)

    Have fun!

    Viktor
    You can change the line _VsdLaunchCondition to 1 > 0 and it won't check for VS

    For me VSTS2008 development edition SP1 the installation with changed msi runs but ends before finish with error code 2356 (Could not locate cabinet in stream: [2].)
    Last edited by pawel.gielmuda; 2010-04-14 at 11:54.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2013-06-16, 01:10
  2. Carbide.vs - Visual Studio 2005 plug-in
    By Mike Trujillo in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 2010-07-22, 22:49
  3. Visual Studio WRT Plugin missing N97
    By csoldani in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-03-11, 00:37
  4. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2009-02-16, 14:40
  5. Problem creating Visual Studio .NET solution
    By miranda2112 in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-02-17, 22:56

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×