×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    9

    Application freeze

    Hi,

    I have a strange problem with a midlet on S40 devices. Our midlet runs fine on lots of devices. And I've been tasked with making sure it works well on S40 devices. If I build the app on my dev box or get it from our build machine and install via usb it runs happily

    However, if I download and install the app hangs the 2nd time it's started. If I move the app to the memory card it works again!

    I have no clue to what is going on. Any ideas?

    I think it's something to do with the jad file, but I'm yet to find out what.

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Noida, U.P.
    Posts
    1,330

    Thumbs up Re: Application freeze

    Quote Originally Posted by mburton View Post
    Hi,

    I have a strange problem with a midlet on S40 devices. Our midlet runs fine on lots of devices. And I've been tasked with making sure it works well on S40 devices. If I build the app on my dev box or get it from our build machine and install via usb it runs happily

    However, if I download and install the app hangs the 2nd time it's started. If I move the app to the memory card it works again!

    I have no clue to what is going on. Any ideas?

    I think it's something to do with the jad file, but I'm yet to find out what.
    I don't think that the problem is due to application. May be this is device issue. Try the same app on some other s40 device.

    check and revert..
    thanks,
    jitu_goldie..

    KEEP TRYING..

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    9

    Re: Application freeze

    I get the same problem on both the 6300 & 6500.

    I've now done a little more investigation. When I download over the air and then copy to the memory card I can copy the .jad & .jar files to my pc.

    I noticed that that the .jar file is 118 bytes longer and no longer a valid zip file.

    It's odd that moving the app to the memory card then allows it to run!

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    9

    Re: Application freeze

    Hmmm, just decided to open the jar in in a text editor. The zip header is now gone and I have

    application/java-archiveflcontent@fl.contentid.s40drmv1#

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    9

    Re: Application freeze

    Me again,

    I think this has something to do with record stores. Our app is actually starting because I can see some debug output on the USB port. Also, if I delete the record stores when on the memory card and move the app back it starts up.

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    7,395

    Re: Application freeze

    My first suspicion of any application that works only the first time is always record stores. Can you determine if any exception is being thrown?

    Graham.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    9

    Re: Application freeze

    I was just thinking the same thing.

    The problem being I can only reproduce this when downloading. I don't want to mess about with our servers, so I'll have to come up with another solution.

    I'll post here with my findings

  8. #8
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    7,395

    Re: Application freeze

    I'm surprised this only happens when installed OTA. Do your servers do anything unusual? Are you adding the DRM? Do you have access to another server (any web server will do) from where to test the app?

    Graham.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    9

    Re: Application freeze

    I downloaded the jad & jar with firefox (pretending to be a phone by modifying the headers) and the jar file was exactly the same as what pops out of our build machine.

    I'm now running apache on my dev box and forwarding through our firewall.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    9

    Re: Application freeze

    This is a follow up post for readers in the furture!

    The problem I had wasn't related to the record stores.

    For some reason our logging code was the cause of this problem. If we log things too early then the app hangs (only when running from phone memory). I don't have time to locate the root cause - maybe some static data.

    The fix was simply not to log so early.

Similar Threads

  1. Not able to install application in mobile.
    By SymbianTH in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-10-08, 11:34
  2. Want to run a j2me application from symbian
    By joy.mca in forum Symbian
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2009-09-12, 12:32
  3. problem in Auto starting application in s60_2nd_fp3
    By gaurav.gupta in forum Symbian
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2009-04-30, 11:09
  4. Call for webkit GUI and application engine model
    By yant in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-04-16, 10:04
  5. Screen saver deep freeze my application!!!
    By Pepper_91 in forum Mobile Java Media (Graphics & Sounds)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-01-05, 11:13

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×